Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2017, 02:41 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 447
Default Recording into SSD?

Hi ,
Normally we record 100 tracks at a time into a hard drive, now we have the option to record into a SSD.
Performance wise SSD is better, but I heard that SSD only have a limited time of writing/reading, if you reach that time, that Data would be gone/corrupt, so is it really safe to record into SSD instead of hard drive?

Thank you
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2017, 02:44 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,825
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

At least with this MBP of mine it is safe to record to the wicked fast system SSD. Haven't had sessions anywhere else since 2013
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2017, 08:36 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
Hi ,
Normally we record 100 tracks at a time into a hard drive, now we have the option to record into a SSD.
Performance wise SSD is better, but I heard that SSD only have a limited time of writing/reading, if you reach that time, that Data would be gone/corrupt, so is it really safe to record into SSD instead of hard drive?

Thank you
SSD technology has really developed since the early days, and modern SSD's have at least as long a life-span as any spinner, or maybe more.

It's safe, and fast. That said, just make sure trim is enabled, and over-provisioning is in place. Other than that, be sure to have backups on a spinner, because an SSD that goes south will likely take your data along with it. I only use the SSD to work on current sessions, and archive everything onto spinners. Unlike spinners, an SSD on its way out will probably not give you any warning signs. Happy SSD recording!
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2017, 09:07 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

With disk caching, I'm not sure it makes much difference other than understanding the limitations posted above.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2017, 10:59 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,399
Default Recording into SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
Hi ,

Normally we record 100 tracks at a time into a hard drive, now we have the option to record into a SSD.

Performance wise SSD is better, but I heard that SSD only have a limited time of writing/reading, if you reach that time, that Data would be gone/corrupt, so is it really safe to record into SSD instead of hard drive?



Thank you

Good SSDs are likely overall more reliable than the HDDs you have been recording to. NAND cell wear is just not an issue, it's all hidden from you by the controller.

And if the drives are portable or in desktop enclosures that get moved around occasionally then SSD is likely much more reliable than HDD.

But all this device reliability is really about convenience. Your recordings are not reliably saved until they are on multiple different media in multiple different locations.

The thing that (today's consumer/prosumer) SSDs are not great at is long term archival storage. High quality HDD are great for that (and so is HDD in the cloud/online, and optical disc and digital tape (like LTO storage for large facilities) still have places in this puzzle).

It is not safe to just say "SSD", there are different SSD NAND storage devices that span orders of magnitude in performance and expected life. You should be describing your computer and needs and asking what SSD to purchase.

The blazing fast speed of modern PCIe based SSD like in the MacBook Pro mentioned above mean you can typically mix samples and audio sessions on the SSD boot drive. Even with disk cache disabled, with disk cache enabled you still benefit with faster startup times and can still get overall more reliable operation (fewer hitting disk IO problems). If you have the option look at these PCIe (and ideally NVMe) SSD drives.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2017, 11:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,825
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Good SSDs are likely overall more reliable than the HDDs you have been recording to.
Yep. But as always, nothing is backed up until it's backed up twice...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2017, 01:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yep. But as always, nothing is backed up until it's backed up twice...
If it doesn't exist in 3 places, its not backed up
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2017, 02:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,399
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

Now we have said that more than three times it must be true


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-2018, 06:48 PM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 279
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

cool
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2018, 06:55 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Re: Recording into SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
If it doesn't exist in 3 places, its not backed up


Exactly!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Guitar | Frustrated (no audio on track after recording) Aftershock64 Pro Tools | First Discussion 6 08-04-2016 10:03 AM
Recording timing / late recording issue resolved DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 07-17-2013 09:10 AM
Recording Latency, (Have to shift regions after recording) brucefielder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-05-2011 04:21 PM
low latency recording vs low hardware buffer size recording chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-27-2009 06:49 AM
PT 5.1 - Recording very lengthy narrative project.. ran out of recording disk space? Rockman-Songwriter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-16-2003 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com