Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:58 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default firmware updating

Hi,
sorry, I've posted about this before but I still haven't figured it out. Does anyone know how to force a firmware update??
The option used to pop up when I loaded ProTools ("Do you wish to update the system firmware now"), but it used to crash after a minute or two when I pressed yes. I was told that if you put the PT cd in when the option pops up it'll work, but I haven't been prompted in ages!
Anyone know??

I'm running 6.1 on a powerbook 1GHz, 1G RAM, 002RACK, maxtor one touch external 250G
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:46 PM
MikeyB MikeyB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central Ohio, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: firmware updating

Stevesound,
Download Mbox Firmware Rev 20 for Mac OS X from the Support/Downloads section at: www.digidesign.com/download It's near the bottom of the page under the heading "Download Catagories". At the bottom of column 1 you'll see MBox. Click that and scroll to the bottom of the page. I think it's tha last one.
It's an HQX archive file. Double click to unstuff it, and, you'll have a directory with a readme file and the application. It's a simple procedure that involves a few prompts and unpluging and plugging the USB connector. I hope this helps.

Cheers,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2004, 04:02 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default Re: firmware updating

Hi Mike,
thanks for your reply! I'm actually on a 002 RACK though, and there doesn't seem to be a download section for Rack users. Any other suggestions??
thanks,
steve

__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2004, 01:04 PM
gaus gaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: israel
Posts: 65
Default Re: firmware updating

Same here, I press the Download button but nothing happens.
DIGI 002R.
__________________
peace&love for all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2004, 10:28 PM
The Mighty Burner The Mighty Burner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 447
Default Re: firmware updating

did you guys run the latest PT6.2.3 update? I just ran it last night and it prompted me to get another firmware update....fortunately I am on the internet.

I would suspect that if you uninstalled PT completely, unplugged the 002R, and then did a reinstall you might get prompted again....just a guess though!

Good luck
__________________
The Burner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2004, 07:14 AM
gaus gaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: israel
Posts: 65
Default Re: firmware updating

Everytime I lunch protools I get this message, the problem is that once i click the download button nothing happen,
it's not dowloading, so after a while I just click cancel and protools opens normaly but without the firmware uppdate.
I reinstalled PT from 6.1 and then did the updates and on each update I got the same message and couldn't download the firmware update.
Maybe some digidesign people could help us here....

David Saban
__________________
peace&love for all.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:31 PM
Love Monkey Studios Love Monkey Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 110
Default Re: firmware updating

maybe you shouldn't be Lunching protools. Get a sandwich for god's sake.

Sorry. Couldn't resist.
__________________
DP 1.25 OS X 10.4.2 2GB RAM PT 6.9 LE digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2004, 10:38 AM
Steve F Steve F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: firmware updating

Hi, I've got a 002 rack and had the same thing happen yesterday after updating to 6.2.3, When I updated the software the 002r wasn't hooked up, so apparently it didn't update the firmware. I uninstalled the update, shut down, connected to the net, rehooked up the 002R, reinstalled the 6.2.3. update, then launched pro tools: after loading plug-ins it informed that I needed to update the firmware, I clicked on Download and the process began. Downloaded it, then reprogrammed the 002r, hopefully that should work for any others that have this problem. It seems to me that the ideal case is to have the 002r connected during the update and to be actively online as well. Hope this helps, soory for being long winded
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2004, 12:13 PM
gaus gaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: israel
Posts: 65
Default Re: firmware updating

MR Monkey

NO COOMENTS
__________________
peace&love for all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2004, 03:52 AM
Simon Magus Simon Magus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ROMA ITALIA
Posts: 140
Default Re: firmware updating

Try this to force firmware update:

power on the digi002 pressing ENTER+UNDO+STANDALONE
you'll see on display "LOAD FIRMWARE"
OPEN PRO TOOLS sw.
Pro Tools ask you to update the firmware.

Simone Corelli
audio engineer
www.audiolambda.com
__________________
Simon Magus
audio eng. in Rome, Italy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating firmware time_ghost Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 12-30-2013 02:04 AM
11R updating Firmware Windows 7 jrockbridge Eleven Rack 8 09-06-2011 06:48 PM
Problems updating firmware JessAvery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-27-2009 06:44 PM
Firmware not updating cjbeckius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-15-2006 11:47 PM
Problems updating 002 firmware crs117 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-24-2006 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com