Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2015, 11:05 AM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Hello all,

I am having a problem changing my session start time. My current start time is 00:59:52:00, and I want to change it to: 00:59:40:00. I get the following error message:

"Unable to maintain original timecode locations with the entered start time because a clip and/or an alternate playlist would exist outside the session boundaries"

I don't see any clips that would be outside the boundaries. No hidden tracks. My session length is 24:00:00:00. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2015, 11:21 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 846
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Try changing your session length to 12 hours. Is there anything at the end of the 24 hour session?
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2015, 12:28 PM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Hi trakbytes,

I tried that, only if I change the session length to anything other than 24hrs, I get this error:

"The content in this session extends beyond the bounds of the selected session length. Please choose a session length of 00:00:05:00 or longer."

I don't quite understand what that means, especially since I am choosing a length longer than 5 frames!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2015, 12:30 PM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Oh, and there is nothing near the 24hr mark. My tracks all end around 2hrs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2015, 01:44 PM
Inglesworth Inglesworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 181
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Try looking to see if there are any automation breakpoints close to the 24 hour mark? You said there are no clips, but pro tools does weird stuff with automation sometimes...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2015, 01:47 PM
Syncrecy Syncrecy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenedit View Post
Hello all,

I am having a problem changing my session start time. My current start time is 00:59:52:00, and I want to change it to: 00:59:40:00. I get the following error message:

"Unable to maintain original timecode locations with the entered start time because a clip and/or an alternate playlist would exist outside the session boundaries"

I don't see any clips that would be outside the boundaries. No hidden tracks. My session length is 24:00:00:00. Any suggestions?
I think you need to start at 01:00:00:00, also, you should ask this question to the guys over on the post and surround side of the fence...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2015, 08:13 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syncrecy View Post
I think you need to start at 01:00:00:00, also, you should ask this question to the guys over on the post and surround side of the fence...
no need to start at hour 1 .. when ever i work with picture my sessions start at either 00:59:00 or 00:59:30 .. was used for run up time on machines chasing .. i.e.: Digibeta / DA-88 - it takes a few seconds for these to line up and run in sync ..

just my .02

also: yes, there must be One Thing that is b4 or after your timeline to get a message like this .. breakpoint or something ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2015, 02:31 PM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 846
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Well, you could make a new session at 0:00 hour start and import your session data into it. There must be something in your original session that would be pushed beyond the 24 hour mark if you change the start time earlier.
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2015, 11:43 AM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

Yes, ultimately I made a new session and imported the session data and that seemed to work. I would like to know why it was happening though. I tried this session in PT11, and did not get the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2015, 01:02 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,369
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations...

fwiw, i change time code settings often,
as a way to "zero" my counter,
when artists reference the mix with comments
relating to the time shown on their player.

and every time, that prompt pops up.

and, every time, i clic past it and never has there been any drama… for me…

your mileage may seriously vary…

e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
import OMF & maintain original timecode pietro79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-11-2010 04:49 AM
import OMF & maintain original timecode pietro79 Post - Surround - Video 8 01-11-2010 01:26 AM
Unable to maintain external clock w/002R generic1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-12-2005 05:25 PM
Recording Original Timecode from DAT h1ntOn Post - Surround - Video 4 07-13-2005 10:45 AM
Maintain timecode when changing session start time Jake Jackson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-23-2005 08:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com