Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2011, 02:42 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 303
Default Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

Simple question.\Which one to go for, stability, compatibilty, longevity?
Thanks
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 1
PT Latest
2014 Mac Pro 12 Core
64 GB Ram
Lots of Thuderbolt Drives
www.produce.co.za
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2011, 03:30 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,548
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louisenslinproduce View Post
Simple question.\Which one to go for, stability, compatibilty, longevity?
Thanks
Hi,

Digi PCI expansion? is there one? where you looking??

Anyway Magma wrocks

PE6R4 Changed the way i work


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2011, 08:17 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 303
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

this one?

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTChassisPCIe/

so magma cool? only need a small one to run a blackmagic decklink. Mac pro is full with Display card and HD 3
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 1
PT Latest
2014 Mac Pro 12 Core
64 GB Ram
Lots of Thuderbolt Drives
www.produce.co.za
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:30 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,548
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louisenslinproduce View Post
this one?

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTChassisPCIe/

so magma cool? only need a small one to run a blackmagic decklink. Mac pro is full with Display card and HD 3
Hi,

That one is no longer supported!! support stopped at 8.0.1


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:09 AM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

You want the pe6r4 for full compato...pcix to pcie, but be forwarned, they have stupidly noisy PS fans, with no solutions in site.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2011, 05:33 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 303
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

HI Guys
Thanks for the plyes. The magma PE6R4 wount work for me cuase its PCIx, Im all PCI E.

Will this work? and is it supported?

http://www.magma.com/expressbox4.asp

Thanks
Louis
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 1
PT Latest
2014 Mac Pro 12 Core
64 GB Ram
Lots of Thuderbolt Drives
www.produce.co.za
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:55 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Magma Or Digi PCI expansion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonepad View Post
You want the pe6r4 for full compato...pcix to pcie, but be forwarned, they have stupidly noisy PS fans, with no solutions in site.
The new ones ship with totally quiet power supply fans and for the ones that shipped with loud fans during a certain period there are quiet replacement fans available. They can be purchased from Magma as well as third party manufacturers.

I realize that the OP doesn't need this info, as he has PCIe cards, but I just thought it would make sense to shed some light on this particular aspect of the topic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone switched from Expansion HD to the new Magma? mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 10-30-2007 05:44 PM
Magma or Digi 64bit PCI Expansion & The G5 Anyone? Stompinmsc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 10-17-2004 10:58 PM
Magma expansion on a a 15" or 17" PB G4, OSX, PT6? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-29-2003 12:46 PM
HD and the old Magma expansion chassis? Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-04-2002 12:02 AM
MAGMA new 64 bits expansion lointier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-03-2002 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com