Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:13 PM
Jantzen Jantzen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 151
Default Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

It is SO different it makes it unusable. The very low volume waveforms are still shown as a thicker line over the central thin line. Even zooming out is useless as as long as it's above some threshold, it remains visible. In older versions, when zooming out these will disappear.

Digidesign please fix this. This makes editing a bitch, especially the subtle things such as breadth.

Jantzen
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.8GHz
Pro Tools 10 HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:09 PM
PaulV's Avatar
PaulV PaulV is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Avid, San Francisco
Posts: 296
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

It sounds like the waveform outline isn't to your liking; you can turn it off by going to View->Waveforms->Outlines and unchecking that option.
__________________
Cheers,

Paul Vercellotti
Avid Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:19 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 356
Question Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

hello,

is there a way to get back the white screen in the edit window ?
and also, the white around the colored waveforms ?
because now the hole interface is very dark and very hardly readable esp. the grid and subdivisions
the 3D interface has almost dissapeared
unless i missed something in the display preferences do something digi : let's have the choice to have the old interface look (esp the edit window ... mabe, i can get used to the mix one ...)
please please please ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:17 PM
Jantzen Jantzen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 151
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulV View Post
It sounds like the waveform outline isn't to your liking; you can turn it off by going to View->Waveform->Outline and unchecking that option.
Nope it is not that. It's still a problem with or without the option checked. The problem is that, there is a certain range of very low signals that cannot be zoomed out at all. No matter how much you zoom out you still see them on the waveform overview. In 7.4, this was not the case.

Jantzen
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.8GHz
Pro Tools 10 HD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2008, 04:40 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

You are in the minority. Most people were clamoring for more resolution, so that you could see low level info even zoomed out.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2008, 05:07 AM
nucelar's Avatar
nucelar nucelar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 386
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

AFAIK they upgraded the waveform overview resolution from 8 bit to 16, allowing to see much more low level detail. Can't see the drawback really.
Another thing is if the rendering is correct. Very low levels should dissapear when the track height is reduced. (and viceversa)
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:54 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
hello,

is there a way to get back the white screen in the edit window ?
and also, the white around the colored waveforms ?
because now the hole interface is very dark and very hardly readable esp. the grid and subdivisions
the 3D interface has almost dissapeared
unless i missed something in the display preferences do something digi : let's have the choice to have the old interface look (esp the edit window ... mabe, i can get used to the mix one ...)
please please please ...
Open the color palette window and crank up the brightness - That should get you a "whiter" appearance.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2008, 10:51 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

Nucelar is correct. Waveform Overviews in Pro Tools 8.0 are drawn with 16-bit depth.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:01 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 356
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

thanks Ghost, that i already did but not enought. Besides i'm trying to find a way to get back the white apparence of the edit window's main screen, not the tracks itselves. you know, i'm talking of the screen section that has the grid lines in it ... the audio regions etc...
will this be the final look of the edit window ?
i really do think that this interface became harder to read because of the new colours. don't you think that the white in the edit window was ONE of PT's great visual advantage on all others ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2008, 04:17 AM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 356
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Waveform View

hello, am i the only one that finds the edit window became harder to read ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a question I've always had about waveform view cdmstudios Windows 4 04-14-2011 09:11 AM
Spectograph view in addition to waveform view? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-20-2010 09:08 AM
Waveform View Sizing danander11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-26-2008 02:42 AM
waveform view during recording sonuslab Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 09-21-2006 09:04 AM
Waveform --> Volume view ??? Brian Kingman General Discussion 2 11-12-2000 04:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com