Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:08 PM
greenglassdrum greenglassdrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Default Midi Notes will not play back

Hi all, What a day for glitches. I have drawn some midi notes on the grid.
When I place the pencil tool on the notes/lines, I hear the notes from Main Out 1 and 2.
But when playing the track back, the notes do not sound.
When I press the stop button, I hear a slight mili-second of the note playing.
Thanks Scott in LA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2012, 09:22 PM
greenglassdrum greenglassdrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Arrow Re: Midi Notes will not play back

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenglassdrum View Post
Hi all, What a day for glitches. I have drawn some midi notes on the grid.
When I place the pencil tool on the notes/lines, I hear the notes from Main Out 1 and 2.
But when playing the track back, the notes do not sound.
When I press the stop button, I hear a slight mili-second of the note playing.
Thanks Scott in LA
One more thing The all midi notes off sign is on not checked at bottom of menu. Is it possible to be stuck in Midi notes off mode?
How do I turn Midi Notes Back On?
I am frazzled. Thanks
__________________
Pro Tools: 10.3.10
Computer: Mac, 21.5", Mid 2011
OS 10.7.5, (11G63), Processor: 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GBnRam, 1333 MHz, DDR3
Interface: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Mix Control 3.4
Main Hard Drive: Lacie Thunderbolt
Back Up Drives: Lacie Firewire
RTAS Plugs for samples, Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2012, 10:56 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Midi Notes will not play back

What are you triggering with the MIDI... and how do you have everything routed and what kind of tracks are you using? Check Input switching mode.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:54 AM
greenglassdrum greenglassdrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Arrow Re: Midi Notes will not play back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
What are you triggering with the MIDI... and how do you have everything routed and what kind of tracks are you using? Check Input switching mode.

Rail
Triggering Roland JV 1080 synth. Was working fine.
Midi out of Roland Keyboard RD-600 into Saffire 56 Midi IN
Midi Out of Saffire to JV 1080.
Track is a Midi track.
Thanks Rail Jon are you near West Hills?
__________________
Pro Tools: 10.3.10
Computer: Mac, 21.5", Mid 2011
OS 10.7.5, (11G63), Processor: 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GBnRam, 1333 MHz, DDR3
Interface: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Mix Control 3.4
Main Hard Drive: Lacie Thunderbolt
Back Up Drives: Lacie Firewire
RTAS Plugs for samples, Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:18 AM
greenglassdrum greenglassdrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Arrow Re: Midi Notes will not play back

It is like Audio input 1 is deactivated in Play mode.
When I hit stop I hear a the last note being played.
Thanks SA
__________________
Pro Tools: 10.3.10
Computer: Mac, 21.5", Mid 2011
OS 10.7.5, (11G63), Processor: 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GBnRam, 1333 MHz, DDR3
Interface: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Mix Control 3.4
Main Hard Drive: Lacie Thunderbolt
Back Up Drives: Lacie Firewire
RTAS Plugs for samples, Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2012, 12:08 PM
greenglassdrum greenglassdrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Arrow Re: Midi Notes will not play back

I am replying to myself and any other newguys to PT experiencing similar difficulties.
I fixed it.!!
After reconfiguring, IO, Mac Midi Studio, and maybe more.
I discovered the Midi notes would play back and record in RECORD Mode but not play mode.
Had to reset INPUT MONITORING to Auto.
That was it. Thanks to all who looked and helped.
__________________
Pro Tools: 10.3.10
Computer: Mac, 21.5", Mid 2011
OS 10.7.5, (11G63), Processor: 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GBnRam, 1333 MHz, DDR3
Interface: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Mix Control 3.4
Main Hard Drive: Lacie Thunderbolt
Back Up Drives: Lacie Firewire
RTAS Plugs for samples, Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi is played on time but midi notes are early on play back. steveooo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-15-2019 05:47 AM
1st notes in midi will not play LLRH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2012 02:45 PM
first MIDI notes won't play levelaudio MIDI 6 03-19-2008 11:49 PM
play samples according to MIDI notes Travis V. MIDI 9 04-26-2004 12:42 PM
PLay samples according to MIDI notes Travis V. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-11-2004 05:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com