Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:10 AM
Blobsie Blobsie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Notts
Posts: 10
Default 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Hi
Wondered if someone could help a newbie out.
I have been given a 11r to play with specifically to do some reamping.

My main interface is a Apollo Quad. I have connected the 11r to the apollo via Spdif.

In studio 1 i have routed the single out to the spider l channel and in the new track routed the in from Spdif R

On the 11 rack i have set rig input to Re-Amp and the Digital output to Split in/ out.

I can see signal going out but i can hear any signal coming back!

Any assistance gratefully received
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobsie View Post
Hi
Wondered if someone could help a newbie out.
I have been given a 11r to play with specifically to do some reamping.

My main interface is a Apollo Quad. I have connected the 11r to the apollo via Spdif.

In studio 1 i have routed the single out to the spider l channel and in the new track routed the in from Spdif R

On the 11 rack i have set rig input to Re-Amp and the Digital output to Split in/ out.

I can see signal going out but i can hear any signal coming back!

Any assistance gratefully received
Well this one is easy... You don't set the rig input to reamp... doing that connects the rig input to a specific input IO channel when used as a USB interface. You are not using the Eleven Rack as an interface here so that's the wrong approach, you need to set the Rig input to S/PDIF R.... where your dry signal is.

You don't need to set the S/PDIF output to split in/out since you already have the dry input, but if you just want to pull off mono output it wont' hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:41 AM
Blobsie Blobsie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Notts
Posts: 10
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Hi Darryl
Thanks for this

Ive now got the rig input to Spdif R
Digital Output to DAW

my signal is routed out to Sdif R and in from Sdif R (is this correct??)

Still nothing!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:58 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Use the meters on the front panel display (far right or the rig view) to see if you have signals anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2016, 10:59 AM
Blobsie Blobsie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Notts
Posts: 10
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Dear Darryl

Appreciate your help so far

i can't see any meters or anything in the 11r editor.....

Sorry!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2016, 11:50 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

In the Eleven Rack front panel, the actual box, not the editor GUI, scroll to the far right items in the display, and/or look up meters in the Eleven Rack User Guide.

You also should be able to help debug this by connecting headphones to the Eleven Rack and getting a wet signal to play back there when you are driving the S/PDIF input from your DAW. Just outputting to headphones/main output, not even trying to record.

Common errors include not cross-connecting S/PDIF Out to In between boxes. Wrong sample rates between the ER and other box, wrong clocking setup (but you'd still hear stuff).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-17-2016 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2017, 03:19 PM
hacha hacha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: buenos aires
Posts: 28
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobsie View Post
Hi
Wondered if someone could help a newbie out.
I have been given a 11r to play with specifically to do some reamping.

My main interface is a Apollo Quad. I have connected the 11r to the apollo via Spdif.

In studio 1 i have routed the single out to the spider l channel and in the new track routed the in from Spdif R

On the 11 rack i have set rig input to Re-Amp and the Digital output to Split in/ out.

I can see signal going out but i can hear any signal coming back!

Any assistance gratefully received
Sorry...but how to connect the eleven to the uad twin interface? if this does not have spdif ..... thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2017, 06:22 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacha View Post
Sorry...but how to connect the eleven to the uad twin interface? if this does not have spdif ..... thanks


You connect an Eleven Rack line level input to a line level outputs on the Twin. Set the eleven rack rig input to that line in L or R (what're one you are using). set your dry track output to whatever line out on the twin you are using and off you go.Make sure you first get things set up so you can record the wet track at all. Too hard... switch interfaces and use the Eleven Rack while tramping, or just get the Eleven plugins and do it all in software.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2017, 07:34 PM
hacha hacha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: buenos aires
Posts: 28
Default Re: 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You connect an Eleven Rack line level input to a line level outputs on the Twin. Set the eleven rack rig input to that line in L or R (what're one you are using). set your dry track output to whatever line out on the twin you are using and off you go.Make sure you first get things set up so you can record the wet track at all. Too hard... switch interfaces and use the Eleven Rack while tramping, or just get the Eleven plugins and do it all in software.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This connection is not by digital spdif. It's by line and analog. It is useful anyway, thank you very much.

Enviado desde mi LG-H815 mediante Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2017, 08:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default 11R Reamping using Apollo as interface and Studio One

You can record via S/PDIF from the Eleven Rack into the Twin via a RCA copper to TOSLINK S/PDIF adapter box. But since the Twin has no S/PDIF out of any sort you have to drive the Eleven Rack input from a line level output.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UA Apollo Interface Issue adam79 Third Party Interfaces 2 02-04-2016 06:53 PM
UA Apollo Quad - FW interface YYR123 Buy & Sell 13 12-07-2015 09:31 PM
UAD Apollo Twin Solo Interface & Pro Tools briaboy Third Party Interfaces 12 05-04-2015 10:06 AM
Issues After Updating UA Apollo Interface viktor99 Pro Tools 10 0 11-03-2013 10:36 PM
PT11 compatible UA Apollo interface? djkikis macOS 4 07-05-2013 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com