Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2011, 05:53 AM
MichaelUR MichaelUR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 15
Default 11R Control Panel keeps freezing!

Hey guys, anyone have this problem? My session is going fine for a while (over an hour) and then the 11R Control Panel just freezes! Then when I close Pro Tools it sits in the final grey idle screen and refuses to shut down until I force a shutdown.

Just got the Expansion pack and upgraded to PT 8.0.5 thinking that would solve the problem but it's still there.

I'm running XP SP3 with Quad Core and 4gig RAM. My system runs Cubase 5.1 with lot's of plug-ins (Including really CPU intensive ones like Izotope Ozone 4 and BFD2 Drums) and it is really stable. Never had a problem until I got Eleven Rack and Pro Tools 10 days ago.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 07:35 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: 11R Control Panel keeps freezing!

Did you run the two parts of the expansion pack?

Run the software installer and once that is done there should be a folder 'Firmware Update' dropped onto your desktop. That needs to be run with computer connected to internet & 11R turned on. (if you have already successfully updated your firmware this doesn't ever need to be run again)

Are you using latest 11R drivers (V1.08)?

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...3=1450&Hilite=

Install the drivers with the 11R turned off then reboot with it turned on.

In any case I would re-install the drivers and run the 11R expansion software update again. If that doesn't fix the problem then it's likely to be a problem with PT rather than the 11R in which case you need to post a Sandra Report;

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.

Here is a video instruction on how to get a Sandra Report if you are having difficulty;

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ghlight=benoni
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2011, 05:59 AM
MichaelUR MichaelUR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 15
Default Re: 11R Control Panel keeps freezing!

Hi Zed,

Thanks for the info mate. Yeah I had done all the above (more than once!) and after a week of frustration (Expansion serial not working etc.), I have come to the conclusion that it's definitely a ProTools>XP problem. I've decided to give up and run Dual systems (W7 on one drive and XP on the other) The reason I've been trying to hang on to XP is that I run a Yamaha 01x on the mLan protocol with Cubase 5 and it works perfectly. Yamaha doesn't provide any new drivers for the 01x and mLan for W7 and I am quite happy with the setup I have cause it does everything I require. I only got the 11R so I can record guitar directly and really didn't care too much about ProTools but alas, Avid are holding us non-ProTools users to ransome by not providing a stand alone editor for Eleven Rack so we must change to Pro Tools if we want to enjoy the computer Control Panels editing of the Patches. So now I'm running Pro Tools and Eleven Rack on W7 and 01x and Cubase 5.1 on XP. Wasted a whole week F*&%$#@ around trying to make Pro Tools/11R work with XP but it just won't happen. Very convenient.... :-/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack control panel freezing MichaelUR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-04-2011 06:50 AM
Control Panel won`t launch Niels T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-14-2010 01:15 AM
MBox 2 Pro Control Panel t.wolfen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-08-2007 08:30 AM
Digidesign Control Panel...N/W on G3 LesPaul666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-05-2001 08:44 AM
sound control panel elgrecco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-28-2000 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com