Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2020, 11:49 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Hi all

I wonder if I do something wrong.

From Mediacomposter i got a folder with mfx audio and an AAF.
First I import (add, Not copy) all audio into session and then I import the AAF.
The problem is that all other Metadata beside the scene/take name is lost.
The weird thing is, that occasionally on some scenes the tracks have the the correct names like Mix, boom. Lav.....

I also tried to import the aaf first and force target format to copy audiofiles to WAV. That does not make a dirrerence.

What am I doing wrong?
Or is the problem on Mediacomposer side?
MFX Problem?

Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2020, 12:10 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,543
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Hm, I simply double click on the AAF select (link where possible) and then relink and point PT to where the media is. No need to add all of it to PT first. I never use 'force' or copy as it breaks our workflow in a larger team where everyone has the original avid media.

Have you looked at the meta-data in the work-space before importing? Maybe there was none in the first place?
__________________
PTHDn 2020.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2020, 01:44 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Hi Frank
The metadata is also lost in first place. No Metadata seen
When I import AAF only (no metadata seen) Protools does not see any hidden tracks. Only the audiofiles that are seen in the edit window.
If I Point to the mfx folder (Fieldrecorder, Save and Index) also non af the multitracks are seen.

Multitracks are only seen if I import all audio separetely.
But i never see metadata in any import.
Sometimes i have a scene where metadata and correct track names are available. So generally it should work.

I did a test with nuendo. It the same here.

I suspect an error on Mediacomposer/operator side.
Why do they change all Multichannel WAV from set to mono mfx files? (1 Channel is seen during import. They are all MonoFiles)

Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2020, 02:35 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,543
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Hi Frank
The metadata is also lost in first place. No Metadata seen
When I import AAF only (no metadata seen) Protools does not see any hidden tracks. Only the audiofiles that are seen in the edit window.
If I Point to the mfx folder (Fieldrecorder, Save and Index) also non af the multitracks are seen.

Multitracks are only seen if I import all audio separetely.
But i never see metadata in any import.
Sometimes i have a scene where metadata and correct track names are available. So generally it should work.

I did a test with nuendo. It the same here.

I suspect an error on Mediacomposer/operator side.
Why do they change all Multichannel WAV from set to mono mfx files? (1 Channel is seen during import. They are all MonoFiles)

Ale
MC always uses split mono files, unless I think they are using some linked workflow which has it's own pitfalls. I don't think it's often used. Split mono is perfectly normal.

There's no easy way to actively remove meta-data on the MC. I'd rather suspect some semi-pro recorder that simply doesn't do meta-data or the files were processed before import into MC stripping out all meta-data.

Could have many reasons why it's gone. Do you have the original BWAVs? If nothing is in those I guess that's the cause. Messed up workflow and/or consumer gear used to record? Look at the original BWAVs,m if they are empty as well, it was messed up during the shoot. Or someone remove the meta-data somehow before import. Or they used a meta-data intransparent third party machine to sync the dailies but I donIt think there is one. You'll know more when you look at the BWAVs from set.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2020, 03:08 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Thanks Frank

I will have a look into the originals.
In Mediacomposer the tracknames are imported
I do not understand where they get lost but I will investigate together with the production company



Ale
Attached Images
File Type: png Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-03 um 11.03.57.png (45.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2020, 03:18 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

But again Frank
When you say you just import AAF und you also get the multichannel files.
What do I make wrong cause I only see the track that is in the timeline.
Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2020, 04:46 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,543
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

have you got view/clip/channel-name active?

In terms of the timeline of course you only get what's in the AAF track-lay, for the other tracks you need to use the expand function. It's part of the field recorder workflow functionality.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2020, 06:19 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Hi Frank
Thanks for yout time and input.
Yes, all activated. See picture what I see

Field recorder expansion gives me all hidden tracks but no metadata.

This time the part of this series comes from an Aaton Recorder.
The cutter told me that they dont get the metadata from the Recorder and they manually edit names on every take!!
They send me the original files. Lets see what happens then.
Ale
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-03 um 13.22.24.jpg (85.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-03 um 13.47.36.jpg (86.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2020, 07:23 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,543
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Hi Frank
Thanks for yout time and input.
Yes, all activated. See picture what I see

Field recorder expansion gives me all hidden tracks but no metadata.

This time the part of this series comes from an Aaton Recorder.
The cutter told me that they dont get the metadata from the Recorder and they manually edit names on every take!!
They send me the original files. Lets see what happens then.
Ale
Cantar is a special case. You don't see the meta-data because it's not in the files, they only punched it into the bin database. you need to expand to the original BWAVs. The Aaton requires an import via ALE into the AVID (as it only writes the track info into the iXML field, the recordists should have told them) but it's too late for that now. As long as the expand works that's fine. Just expand to the original BWAVs and you should be fine. That's what that workflow is for in the end.

Since you are German: There's a whole chapter on this workflow with Cantar in the "BVFT-Filmtonguide". Do you have that?
__________________
PTHDn 2020.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 11-03-2020 at 07:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-03-2020, 03:14 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Default Re: AAF wirth MFX Audio LOST METADATA

Hi Frank
Thanks for the information.
I found it on their Hompage.
I forwarded info to cutter and wait for the original files.

Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metadata from AAF from Premier PRO lost SindriKara Tips & Tricks 0 07-25-2019 09:47 AM
How to change metadata on audio files? Inglesworth macOS 1 02-24-2017 05:34 AM
Key Command for finding audio metadata please help ickeruss Pro Tools 9 0 04-13-2011 08:52 AM
reading Audio file metadata ? KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-05-2009 03:08 PM
Reading audio file metadata???!!! GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-21-2008 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com