Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2016, 11:21 AM
IVcrane IVcrane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 252
Default 2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15"

Curious if anybody is running one of these older quad-core macs? I have been using the latest 15" MacBook Pro for Pro Tools.

I have this MacPro Tower kicking around and trying to decide whether to sell it, give it to a family member, or whether if I max out the ram, if it will compare similarly to my macbook pro? It would be nice to have a permanent tower in the studio since the laptop is also used for school and the wife's occasional graphic design work when she works from home.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2016, 11:32 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,573
Default Re: 2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15"

Geek bench isn't the be all end all of performance, but this should give you an idea.

https://browser.primatelabs.com/geek...2800%20bits:32

https://browser.primatelabs.com/geek...2800%20bits:32
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2016, 11:44 AM
IVcrane IVcrane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 252
Default Re: 2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15"

Thanks for the info... I had to update to the 3Ghz Mac Pro in the search...

The Macbook pro seems to perform around double that of the 2008 Mac Pro 8core for single processor, but they are about equal for multi-core scores. Since ProTools can use multi-core, does this mean they should both perform around the same for Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2016, 12:12 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: 2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15"

Quote:
Originally Posted by IVcrane View Post
Thanks for the info... I had to update to the 3Ghz Mac Pro in the search...

The Macbook pro seems to perform around double that of the 2008 Mac Pro 8core for single processor, but they are about equal for multi-core scores. Since ProTools can use multi-core, does this mean they should both perform around the same for Pro Tools?
The older processor in your mac may be similar in pure "power", the newer processor is going to make everything appear smoother and have better response due to architecture improvements and gains in Cache size and buss speeds. I would bet they will be different experiences when trying to run Pro Tools.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2016, 02:56 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: 2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15"

Quote:
Originally Posted by IVcrane View Post
Curious if anybody is running one of these older quad-core macs? I have been using the latest 15" MacBook Pro for Pro Tools.

I have this MacPro Tower kicking around and trying to decide whether to sell it, give it to a family member, or whether if I max out the ram, if it will compare similarly to my macbook pro? It would be nice to have a permanent tower in the studio since the laptop is also used for school and the wife's occasional graphic design work when she works from home.
I ditched an 8 Core 2010 Mac with an HD3 for a Retina Macbook Pro.
The older system with TDM and RTAS would reach 100%.
One evening back then, I loaded up that same session on the Retina Macbook Pro just for kicks and laughs.... Haha.. The Retina Macbook Pro reached 20%.

I immediately sold the HD3 system AND the Mac !

Now I run a 2014 rMBP, 16GB RAM, 2GB Graphics, 1TB HD attached is a 4k Thunderbolt Display along with a lot of SSD Periphery...

It is NEVER sick at sea and I can throw at it what I want... Oh - and it is Mobile ;-)
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purchase new MBP 2.3GHz 4-core or stay w/ 2008 Mac Pro 3GHZ 8-core? IVcrane macOS 0 11-30-2013 01:58 PM
New Macbook Pro i7 or "old" Macpro 8 core tomdiek macOS 9 08-13-2011 09:33 PM
3ghz dual core VS. 2.4gh Quad? Which Mo'Betta? scoobydoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-12-2008 12:14 AM
003 with PT 7.4 on Leopard on 2 x 3ghz Dual Core MacPro stu2469 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-10-2008 09:56 PM
MacPro 8-Core (Jan 2008) and HD Dan Pinder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 01-24-2008 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com