Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2004, 03:56 PM
Produce_Dept Produce_Dept is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: AZ / NY
Posts: 146
Default New iMac G5

Check out the new G5 iMac on the apple website! what do you guys think?
__________________
Kurt Bullock
PT 7.4 HD2Accel Digi ProControl
G5 Dual 2.7 3.5gig RAM OS10.4.8
www.zeropointrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:17 PM
David Schober David Schober is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Brentwood, TN, USA
Posts: 220
Default Re: New iMac G5

Classic Apple! (as opposed to the old computer, the Apple Classic)

Apple seems to be one of the few companies that makes technology hardware sexy. Next year you'll see poor versions from some Asian companies, but despite the OS, none will match Apple.

I'd suspect PT should have no issues with it. Just have to wait and see I guess.

One last thing....the Apple website marketing gurus chose to title their website "From the creators of iPod" That should tell you something!

http://www.apple.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2004, 09:57 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: New iMac G5

Quote:

I'd suspect PT should have no issues with it. Just have to wait and see I guess.
Pro Tools have NO issue with a new piece of Apple hardware???? The heck you say!
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2004, 11:33 PM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: New iMac G5

Will TDM Mix systems work on these?






























Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:45 AM
David Schober David Schober is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Brentwood, TN, USA
Posts: 220
Default Re: New iMac G5

Well....one can hope!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:50 AM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: New iMac G5

We could try putting the cards in a cardboard box next to the unit and try another product altogether huh?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2004, 07:17 AM
Jsalam112 Jsalam112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 313
Default Re: New iMac G5

No PCI slots (normal for iMac's)...no TDM.
The new iMac should be well suited for PT LE.
Not sure what the performance difference will be between the new iMac (single 1.8 G5) and the dual 1.8 G5 but nice looking all-in-one package.
I'm thinking about one for my 002 setup.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:35 PM
rockridge's Avatar
rockridge rockridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 919
Default Re: New iMac G5

It looks the way i always wanted the iMac to look.

I never liked the iGlue... {{{{{ Igloo with a solar panel on top }}}}

But will it wind up being a hot plate waiting to burn your dinner?

Really, it is very cool looking...
__________________
Protools 10.3.10/11.3.2/12.6 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tranferring Protools 10 from old iMac to new IMac JuergenTilak Pro Tools 10 3 07-31-2012 09:48 AM
iMac For PT9? Bill Denton Pro Tools 9 2 11-17-2010 08:25 PM
24in iMac or 21.5 iMac??? Help the blast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-30-2010 06:19 PM
sync iMac with 003 and iMac with Mbox2? Jussi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2009 04:24 PM
Imac elpumita 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-18-2008 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com