Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:42 AM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Hi

I started a thread under a different title "Did PT 6.4 finally add a quickey to hide the app?"
http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=5&o=7&fpart=1

But I figured it would be good to start a new thread with a better title now that I figured out what happened. I found a way to insert your own Quick Key shortcuts into any application running under OS X Panther.
So far I have added Quick Keys for Bounce to Disk, Save Session As, Delete Selected Tracks, and Hide Protools. They work like a charm and all done from within a preference pane in the Mac OS X System Preferences.

Heres how:
Quote:


1. Quit Protools

2. Open System Preferences Application-- Launch Keyboard & Mouse preference pane.

3. Select "Keyboard Shortcuts" and click the little "+" sign at the bottom left.

From the pulldown menu, choose your specific application, in this case Protools from the "other" menu. (You will need to navigate to the Protools app in your digidesign folder)

4. Type in the EXACT menu option that you want to add a quickkey to. In this case I chose hide protools so I typed in
"Hide Pro Tools" exactly how it is in the drop down menu, without the quotes obviously--(case sensitive, and the spacing between Pro and Tools for example) Make sure your upper and lower cases are right as well as any periods....

5. Press the key combination you want to use and you will see it appear in the field. Probably should make sure that you are not using an already used quick key from the standard menus as well as the not so obvious ones.

6. Quit system prefs, launch Protools and voila!, you will see your newly added QuicKey.

Of course, I have NO idea if this will affect the app, how it runs, if it will affect shortcuts that are already there, or if it will blow up () if you assign a quick key that is already being used in Protools. But so far, I did a session tonite, and all seems well.
Whatever brave ppl give it a shot, please post your results here. So far so good on this end.

Digi, do you have any comments on this?

Thanks and Enjoy!
MT
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:33 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,573
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

cool. maybe everyone could post what combos they are using to see if a consensus forms. also to avoid using combos that are already used.
drew
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2004, 07:47 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

I am using "control, option, Apple, B" for bounce to disk.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2004, 08:52 AM
putney2 putney2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 312
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Very COOL!
I've got my 'Show System Usage' back! cmd / cont/ =

The cool thing is that the shortcuts get posted next to the item in the pull down window.

Also:
'Bounce to Disk...' cmd / opt/ cont/ B
'Make Selected Tracks Inactive' cmd / cont/ I
'Preferences...' cmd / cont/ *
'No Auto-Scrolling' cmd / cont/ f11
'Continuous Scroll with Playhead' cmd / cont/ f12
'Hide Pro Tools' cmd / cont/ H
'Save Session As...' cmd / cont/ S
'Change Tempo...' cmd / cont/ T
'I/O Setup...' cmd / cont/ O

The only disapointment so far is not being able to get 'VocALign Project LE' to pop up. cmd / cont/ V

Now if I can just make a 'Hot @ss Mix' shortcut!

Also 'Clear Record' would be nice. And does anyone remember the shortcut for closing plugin windows?
I've forgotten that one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:48 AM
servo servo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 19
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Which key combo are you using for these?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2004, 10:56 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 986
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Mt.Everest, this is the best info I got on the DUC in the last year! Quickkeys is so SLOW in OSX! This one is fast! And it works perfectly... Thank you so much.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2004, 12:10 PM
servo servo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 19
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Thanks putney2 !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2004, 12:55 PM
putney2 putney2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 312
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

OK, 'Bounce to Disk...' cmd / cont/ B , still preforms the function of cmd / B (CLEAR) if any regions are selected.
So I've added opt. and givin' it a try:
'Bounce to Disk...' cmd / opt/ cont/ B

-russell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:30 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Has anyone tried their new Quickkeys while working in a...z mode? I don't usually work like that cuz i end up hitting keys by mistake, but I was wondering if any of your custom modifier+letter quickeys would affect the single letter quickkeys made available with a...z enabled. Not in front of a system now so I can't check..

Example: Im using Cntrl-H for Hide Protools but will this also cause "Snap Start (of selected region) to playhead" to happen which is executed by hitting "H" by itself while in a...z mode?

Thanks
MT
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2004, 07:34 PM
MMC MMC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US
Posts: 21
Default Re: OSX hidden pref to make your own PT\'s QuickKeys!!

Actually, Quickeys is not slow in X, maybe you are using the wrong creator, you must use the "User Actions/Menus/Menus. That's as fast as in OS9, and the cool thing is that you can create shortcuts for sub menus like, "Show/Hide i/o, inserts, for mix or edit window." Those ones you can not do in Panther. and there are so many extra things that you can do with quickeys and protools that I don't see any reason for not to use it anymore.

To make my life easier, all quickeys shorcuts have always the three modifiers pressed (control,option,Apple):

exemple
Bounce to disk - control-option-apple-B
Preferences- control-option-apple-P
and so on.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quickkeys for mac kunalrajan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-03-2009 05:05 AM
Quickkeys tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-01-2007 12:58 PM
Can one make a track inactive and hidden at once? KenSluiter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-01-2006 02:25 PM
AGAIN: Pref for edits & Playlists/Hidden tracks rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-14-2006 11:05 AM
Quickkeys Fred Maury Tips & Tricks 3 03-24-2001 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com