Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:59 PM
1150Post 1150Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 431
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

Quote:
could anyone provide comparitive comments on channel strip's compressor vs. waves c1 (both running tdm)? Thanks for help.

-cc1
I prefer Channel Strip for Post work, and it is VERY easy on DSP. The support is awesome. Drop them an email and see if you can give it a demo.

Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
__________________
Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-01-2004, 02:40 AM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

I promised some feedback on our little endeavour with Powercore, - we got the Powercore Firewire yesterday...
- First off, - why we are looking in the direction of TC, - very simple, the cost/quality ratio is very apealing.
- the portability of the system, - and the fact that its an open platform just as HD.

Ok, - so back to what have happend, - as i´ve mentioned we´ve had no problems with the PoCo PCI version on either mac or pc. So we took a somwhat bold step and got a Firewire version also.
The system that currently have PoCo installed is a Digidesign approved P4 2ghz pc running PT ver. 6.4 and latest cs-update. VST-wrapper ver. 1.06.
The install was easy and once the drivers was loaded the PoCo-controlpannel reflected that there was now two "cards" installed, - it dosent say which is which only showes that there are now two cards on the machine.
No prob opening Pro Tools sessions with PoCo- plugs and adding new ones, - you just have more DSP-power. There have been issues with two or more cards with the UAD using just 50% of the avalible power, - no such thing with TC..
One thing I´ve noted, - dont load plugs while in playback - PT and PoCo can lose sync. and you´ll get a pop-up to show you that.
Pro Tools has been stable, - so has PoCo.
There are as I´ve mentioned a few minor bugs, but none sever enough to turn me away from PoCo, and none that you cant easyly work around. Fx. if you open a session with some of the plugs on the master-channel you´ll need to open and close the plug-in window once before it will let any audio through..
Then there are the latency issue, - as mentioned we just use the plugs as we would external hardware and compensate accordingly..

Hope this answers a few questions..
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-01-2004, 09:40 AM
cc1 cc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 219
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

Quote:
Then there are the latency issue, - as mentioned we just use the plugs as we would external hardware and compensate accordingly..

Hope this answers a few questions..
Does PT's auto delay compensation work the same with VST-RTAS-ADAPTER plugins as it does with TDM plugins?

Thanks,
-cc1
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-01-2004, 09:01 PM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 968
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

I found a plugin on the OSXaudio web site (great site by the way) that could possibly replace a number of Waves plugs.
Quote, "BadCable 1.2 is an AudioUnit which attempts to simulate a bad audio cable. The result is a form of waveform distortion. With some settings, the effect sounds like FM radio when you're at the edge of reception (check out preset #2 "FM Edge").
This is a minor update, focusing primarily on performance enhancements.
The effect is rather dependent upon the average level of the incoming signal, so the Intensity parameter is designed with a very wide range to cover all possibilities, including very soft 24-bit signals.
Very high settings of Intensity will sound like a "cable" that is so "bad" is doesn't work at all "


__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:56 AM
thestudio thestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

What's the URL?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:21 AM
soundlife2 soundlife2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: santa monica, ca
Posts: 174
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

OSXAUDIO

Great site that tries to keep up with EVERYTHING audio for MAC OSX.

BTW, thestudio, thanks for being the guy who keeps this all alive.

Cheers!
__________________
.: phil kovats
.:
audio director
.:
naughty dog
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:45 PM
cc1 cc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 219
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

[QUOTE]
...we are looking in the direction of TC, - very simple, the cost/quality ratio is very apealing[QUOTE]


Before I spend $ on the TC TDM Tools bundle: Is there an alternative to TC's Chorus/Delay? Its very easy to use and sounds good (like RenVox from Waves - easy & sounds good). I don't think Waves has a plugin like TC's Chorus/Delay (unless you use doubler or metaflanger -which I struggle with). Any other alternatives? I have Echo Farm (and Telray) but I've had better results with TC's Chorus/Delay for vocals.

Thanks for help.
cc1
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:30 PM
soundlife2 soundlife2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: santa monica, ca
Posts: 174
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

Hi CC1,

Try Sound Toys Sound Blender (includes Pitch Blender and Time Blender).

Sounds great! ... Incredible flexibility ... and some really fantastic presets right out of the box.

Cheers.
__________________
.: phil kovats
.:
audio director
.:
naughty dog
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-22-2004, 08:05 PM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

Great thread. I've been needing this one.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:41 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,116
Default Re: Replacement Options for Waves Plug-Ins...

Just a question: Did you also get more Waves advertising (by mail) recently than the last 2 years?

Do they already realize the lost of income? Do they feel the breath of the other plug in companies in their neck?

I HOPE SO!!!
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2020, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
001/v6.4 Life Support / Replacement Options bobe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2012 12:04 PM
003 Best Options For Replacement. philip888 Pro Tools 9 3 11-03-2011 11:58 AM
003 Best Options For Replacement. philip888 Pro Tools 10 18 11-01-2011 01:47 PM
drum replacement / augmentation options studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 31 02-02-2010 01:54 PM
Waves L1 replacement? Dan Pinder Tips & Tricks 27 07-26-2004 06:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com