Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2004, 06:18 PM
taiazeez taiazeez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: england
Posts: 247
Default Plugin rentals

First id like to congratulate Digi for this bold move. However the prices are too high still it is a fantastic additon, considering the cost of plugins this is a solution that deserves to work you can charge clients extra for serious plugs a 10% premium of the overall cost is a fair pricing structure and would guarantee loads of rental all we need now is for all the softwre companies to join up to this scheme. This will go a long way to see off priacy for a number of plugins and enable software companies to recoup cost whilst we the custmoers buy absolute essentials and then rent out the infrequent plugins. Well done Digi.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2004, 12:41 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Plugin rentals

I agree that the prices are high but its nice to see them make this available. I really hope it catches on with other companies because I have almost everything Digi distributes except for Revibe and Echo Farm. Good stuff though...
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2004, 01:12 AM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: Plugin rentals

I like the idea alot too. Way to pricey though. I like the way that URS Plugins rental worked. The Rent To Own option really helped me out alot. I'd like to see DIgidesign do that soon too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2004, 01:59 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Plugin rentals

I think that a "Rent to Own" type of deal could be very cool. That would fuel more sales of plugins because people people can buy it now even if they don't have all the money. Then they follow through and buy the plugins because they already invested money in them.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2004, 03:27 AM
SHUK SHUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Posts: 30
Default Re: Plugin rentals

Hi

I can't find any mention of this on Digi's site, could you post a link please?

Thanks

Phil
__________________
www.stronghire.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2004, 05:14 AM
CroqueMadame CroqueMadame is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Paris
Posts: 48
Default Re: Plugin rentals

How about leasing ?
__________________
Help, this is hopefull
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:14 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Plugin rentals

Quote:
Hi

I can't find any mention of this on Digi's site, could you post a link please?

Thanks

Phil
http://www.digidesign.com/news/detai...?story_id=1238
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:26 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Plugin rentals

I second this, as TC Electronics has been doing this for their System6000 software add-on.
And yes the price structure is still too expensive.

Quote:
Rent To Own
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix Audio Post


Mac Pro (2013) 3.7GHz Quad Core, 32GB RAM, OS X 10.13.4, PT Ultimate 2018.10, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Avid Sync HD, Avid HD Omni, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:59 AM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 251
Default Re: Plugin rentals

Agreed, this is a great idea which I thought of a while back but now with the iLok its is easier to implement. Digi and third party developers, please restructure the pricing. Some are 10% of the retail purchase and others are 15%, for the 2-Day rental comparison. Lets keep it consistent and get them a little lower and we all win!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:13 AM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 251
Default Re: Plugin rentals

After taking a look at TC's site, I would like to encourage Digi and third party dev. to have a similar policy to TC:

"If you decide to purchase a permanent license, your accumulated rental value of that same license (for the same Mainframe) will be refunded. This does not happen automatically when purchasing a permanent license from tc-now.com. To achieve your refund, keep your invoice(s) and send them to S6000licenses@tcelectronic.com with a request to purchase a permanent license. "

This would be great also.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plugin rentals Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-10-2010 01:57 PM
No more plugin rentals at Digi Store ? GWR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-02-2009 11:10 AM
HD rentals?? bstroner General Discussion 6 09-11-2007 08:46 PM
About these plugin rentals....? JCBigler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-01-2004 10:11 PM
Plugin rentals underbiteman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-29-2004 11:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com