Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:29 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Avid - fix the redraw issue

Though I'm ready to absolutely explode, I'll refrain from being disrespectful in any way. Suffice it to say, "AVID, please address the Pencil Redraw issue". My dialogue editing, which I do for hours a day, is a complete frustration to the point of wanting to dump ProTools due to the erratic Pencil redraw issue.

I paid a lot of money for this upgrade (too much) and to have to deal with this unacceptable bug for this long is bewildering. Perhaps there has been a fix and I'm unaware, if so, please point me the right direction and I'll be on my way.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:00 PM
Dan-Jay Dan-Jay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 260
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

What exactly is the 're-draw' issue? What happens?
__________________
PC - Intel i7 920 Quad - 9GB RAM - EX-58UD5 - 5 HDs - Windows 7 64bit
Audio Interface - M-Audio Profire 610
Pro Tools - M-Powered 8.0.4
FL Studio - 9.0.3
Midi controllers - Behringer BCF 2000 - M-Audio Keystation 61es

Dan-Jay
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:31 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,007
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Is this redrawing after using clip gain?

My current workaround is to separate (B) the click after you zoom in. Option-Click the clip gain icon on the separated clip to bring it back to zero, use your pencil tool on the click, delete the separated clip, then heal the space (cmd-H) that you just deleted.

Its a huge PITA, but until they fix it, its the fastest way I can figure out to do it.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3.0, High Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:39 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Bypass Clip Gain works as a workaround as well.

Maybe a bit of a quicker workaround than what you currently do?

Hope it helps,
Timothy
__________________
G5 10.13.6
PT Ultimate 2019.12.0
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:48 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Just created two shortcuts for Bypassing and unbypassing clip gain:

Menu Title: Bypass Clip Gain

and

Menu Title: Unbypass Clip Gain

You can use the same shortcut for both menu titles by the way,

Timothy
__________________
G5 10.13.6
PT Ultimate 2019.12.0
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:59 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

In my experience, it has nothing to do with Clip Gain per se'. The only way I have found to work around it is to separate the clip and then for sake of speed, I use the "Consolidate" shortcut, then I can use the Pencil Tool to draw out clicks etc.

For those asking "what is the issue". When you zoom in to a click or issue that you want to correct/redraw using the Pencil Tool, it will not draw correctly. The best example I could give, without showing a picture is this: You want to draw a click out of a straight line on the waveform, so you click the mouse and drag/redraw the line. When you let go of the mouse, what you had drawn as a straight line flips into a U shape.....now you have a worse problem than before.

There is truly no excuse for this not be remedied by now. To me, it really is a picture of what AVID thinks of their customers.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:42 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Under what conditions is this happening?

I have used the pencil tool to draw out clicks well over a thousand times since upgrading to PT 10. I have never seen the issue you describe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:46 AM
Nightworker Nightworker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere
Posts: 218
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in Charlotte View Post
In my experience, it has nothing to do with Clip Gain per se'. The only way I have found to work around it is to separate the clip and then for sake of speed, I use the "Consolidate" shortcut, then I can use the Pencil Tool to draw out clicks etc.

For those asking "what is the issue". When you zoom in to a click or issue that you want to correct/redraw using the Pencil Tool, it will not draw correctly. The best example I could give, without showing a picture is this: You want to draw a click out of a straight line on the waveform, so you click the mouse and drag/redraw the line. When you let go of the mouse, what you had drawn as a straight line flips into a U shape.....now you have a worse problem than before.

There is truly no excuse for this not be remedied by now. To me, it really is a picture of what AVID thinks of their customers.
I've never had this happen but a question. Are you possibly in grid mode when you are doing this and you see the U shape appear?
__________________
Windows 7 ultimate 64 sp1. intel i5 2500k 3.30 ghz. asus p8p67 evo rev 3. 16g kingston ddr3 1600. Asus engtx 560dc2 oc. Seagate Barracuda 7200 9 SATA 80-GB Hard Drive. 2x WD caviar black 7200 500 GB. 1x WD caviar black 7200 1 TB. Seagate Freeagent 7200 1 TB usb 2.0. SIIG NN-440012-S8.

PT 10. SIB 7. ProjectMix I/O. Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56. Focusrite Saffire pro 40. Genelec 8040. Axiom pro 61. Alesis Dm8 pro. Spector ns2000/5. Old vintage Vantage electric guitar. Bunch of VI's and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:47 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

I've seen screen redraw issues at max zoom at the end of clips with fades where the fade is drawn extending from the end of the clip outside instead of inside the clip. I don't think this is related to the pencil tool itself.

PT 10.0.1HD OSX 10.7.3

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:38 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Avid - fix the redraw issue

Let's say, for example, I have to use the Pencil Tool 20 times in a day - the redraw issue will arise anywhere from two to five times.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Avid TC/E Plug-In issue... The Weed Pro Tools 11 2 12-24-2013 10:29 AM
AVID AAF import - automation issue David McCarthy Post - Surround - Video 1 02-11-2013 05:17 PM
Hardware Issue?? Avid Help! dhmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-30-2012 04:11 PM
PT8 wave redraw issue dkean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-14-2009 01:40 PM
PTLE XP Redraw Issue? citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-20-2002 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com