Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2011, 11:46 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,397
Default HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

Yeah, there are 50 jillion posts about HD10. I'm not sure if this has been answered in any of them, but I'm curious about something:

How will HDX cards handle voices when using an AAX plugin that is hosted on the host CPU vs. the DSP on the HDX card? Will it reduce available voices the same way an RTAS plugin currently does with TDM systems? Essentially, with an HDX card, is the session going to be based around the architecture of the card, where as the card is a 256 voice mixer that will need to use up i/o to communicate with the host CPU?
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2011, 12:43 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

I read a post from someone at AES who saw a demo of the new system and apparently there are some rules for burning voices in and out of the DSP card. In that way I guess it bears some similarities to TDM, but there are so many many more available voices now that it's probably a non issue.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2012, 11:19 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 818
Question Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

what is the definitive answer for this?

just curious

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2012, 12:21 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 340
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

Yes, it's the same way as with TDM systems. AAX Native plug-ins on aux channels take one voice per channel, putting HEAT to pre on audio tracks that have AAX Native plug-ins active will cost an extra voice per channel.

Toby
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:05 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

It isn't the same. The FPGA chip takes the mixing & voices chores, and should use no extra DSPs for more voices. I believe an Avid rep cleared this up already. I'll have to find the post somewhere on here.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:36 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 836
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-ManLA View Post
It isn't the same. The FPGA chip takes the mixing & voices chores, and should use no extra DSPs for more voices. I believe an Avid rep cleared this up already. I'll have to find the post somewhere on here.
The question was not about DSP but voice count.
__________________
iMac Pro - HDX - Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2012, 05:51 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

HDX does use voices to move in and out of the dsp mixer for native plug ins. It's a little different then tdm tho. Tdm uses 2 voices per trip. One voice to get there and one voice to get back. HDX uses 1 voice per trip. So HDX is uses 1/2 the voices that tdm does. Another really important difference is HDX is designed to run at a 64 sample buffer. So latency when moving to out of the dsp mixer to the CPU and back is radically reduced. In short, HDX is realy comfortable using native plug ins on auxs! Great improvement over tdm. HDX really is a hybrid system of dsp and CPU power.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2012, 06:27 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
HDX does use voices to move in and out of the dsp mixer for native plug ins. It's a little different then tdm tho. Tdm uses 2 voices per trip. One voice to get there and one voice to get back. HDX uses 1 voice per trip. So HDX is uses 1/2 the voices that tdm does. Another really important difference is HDX is designed to run at a 64 sample buffer. So latency when moving to out of the dsp mixer to the CPU and back is radically reduced. In short, HDX is realy comfortable using native plug ins on auxs! Great improvement over tdm. HDX really is a hybrid system of dsp and CPU power.
Yes. A great improvement over TDM. That loss of two voices per RTAS plug used to really level us HD1 owners. Though HDX is not in my future anytime soon because ya really don't need anything more than native, even at the Pro studio level, it's still nice to know that Avid fixed that particular little logjam in their newest flagship HD system.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,364
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

"voice" is an i/o point of a mixer.

They just pulled that term out of their hats, because they think we're idiots. Apparently it's nicer to talk about "voices" than "mixer i/o points" -- and as long as you have 100% DSP mixer or 100% Native mixer, it does not matter.

But if you mix the two, you need to talk about mixer i/o points and understand the concept.

That said,

HDX mixer eats a voice every time signal goes in and out of the DSP.
TDM mixer eats a voice every time signal goes in and out of the DSP.

Period.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,364
Default Re: HDX cards, AAX plugins and voices

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
HDX is designed to run at a 64 sample buffer.
So is HD, so what's the point?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
256 Voices With Hd Accel cards Intransit Pro Tools 10 11 10-23-2011 07:41 PM
RTAS Plugins reduces voices schumannbach Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-03-2009 09:15 AM
Only 32 voices with 2 D24 cards ? phil kerg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-29-2006 03:24 PM
36 voices 6 DSP @ 192k How many DSP cards??? AAR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-17-2004 04:41 PM
2 Disk I/O cards..only 16 voices chester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-20-2000 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com