Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2018, 10:35 AM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 11
Default Pro tools 8.0.5 weird melodyne error

Hey ya'llz.

I have Protools 8.0.5. I have Melodyne Essential 2.1.2. I'm having a weird error. I melodyned a pair of background vocals with Equalizing and Compression on it. Yet, when I play the track back or try to bounce it, the vocals don't come in when they're supposed to, instead coming a few bars later. The physical waveforms show the vocals in their correct place, yet the sound doesn't come in on time. The weirdest part is that if I start playback closer to the problem spot, it plays as normal! So as long as I play it from a certain spot, it works fine, and if not, then it gets delayed, despite me not using delay FX. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? I've been using Protools 8 for almost a decade and I've never had this happen before.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2018, 10:47 AM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro tools 8.0.5 weird melodyne error

Just realized the common denominator...every time there's a tempo change, the delay effect happens along with a slowdown. I must be doing something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2018, 10:54 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,796
Default Re: Pro tools 8.0.5 weird melodyne error

The waveform you see on the screen(in Pro Tools) is irrelevant because the Melodyne plugin now "owns" the audio(IOW, you could delete the waveform on the track, but you would still hear the audio from the plugin). In your version of PT, the best way to work Melodyne is:

#1-insert it in the top insert slot so it works on the original audio(not after any EQ or compression)
#2-once all your tuning is done, bypass any other plugins>Send(pre-fade) to a new audio track>record the tuned vocal to this new track.
#3-once the recording has finished, make Melodyne inactive(or remove it)
#4-using the original audio as a guide, nudge the new audio so it lines up with the original, and mute the original(or, make a new playlist on the original track and move the new audio onto the original track(this is handy if you already have other plugins tweaked and sounding good). Alternately, you can Alt-drag and copy plugins from the original track to the new(tuned) track.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE -20010 Error: Melodyne 4 Singletrack not Working tenchijin2 Pro Tools 11 5 01-17-2017 06:07 PM
Melodyne error - PT10 ASTR Pro Tools 10 1 04-05-2012 11:56 AM
Error with startup after installation of Melodyne jeto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-26-2009 06:02 PM
Pro Tools HD Setup... weird error theaero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-22-2009 02:09 PM
Weird Pro Tools Error Keith Moore Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-21-2006 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com