Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2018, 01:05 PM
dekemason dekemason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Edmonton Canada
Posts: 2
Default Recording with V-Drums. Help!

I want to record drum tracks in Protools 2018 but can't get it working. I'm trying to connect my TD-9 V-Drums to a iMac Pro using the UM-ONE MK2 USB MIDI interface to trigger Addictive Drums 2. My Audio interface for outputs is the new UA Arrow and does not have a MIDI port hence why I'm using the UM-ONE. I've tried everything I can find on the web to no avail. Um-One shows signal but AD is not being triggered in protools. Can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2018, 05:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,965
Default Re: Recording with V-Drums. Help!

You probably need to set up MIDI. I'm on Windows so it might be a bit different, but...in Pro Tools, go to Setup>Midi>Midi Studio. In that window, create a new "instrument", name it whatever you like(like Roland Kit) and assign the incoming MIDI port to the proper connection(probably the UM1). After that, it should be as simple as create a stereo Instrument track, insert AD in the top slot and hit the record button on the track(and in the AD plugin, make sure you select the Roland mapping). There are probably several youtube videos to help guide you thru this
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2018, 03:06 PM
dekemason dekemason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Edmonton Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Recording with V-Drums. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
You probably need to set up MIDI. I'm on Windows so it might be a bit different, but...in Pro Tools, go to Setup>Midi>Midi Studio. In that window, create a new "instrument", name it whatever you like(like Roland Kit) and assign the incoming MIDI port to the proper connection(probably the UM1). After that, it should be as simple as create a stereo Instrument track, insert AD in the top slot and hit the record button on the track(and in the AD plugin, make sure you select the Roland mapping). There are probably several youtube videos to help guide you thru this
Thanx for the reply Dave. I appreciate the help. I thought I had done what you suggested but still doesn't work. Do you have to create the instrument track last? I must be missing something simple but have no Idea what it would be.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2018, 05:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,053
Default Re: Recording with V-Drums. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dekemason View Post
Thanx for the reply Dave. I appreciate the help. I thought I had done what you suggested but still doesn't work. Do you have to create the instrument track last? I must be missing something simple but have no Idea what it would be.
Check to see if your drum vi has a mapping preset for your v-drums. If your drum vi doesn't have a mapping for the specific vdrums brain you have try setting both the vi and vdrums for general MIDI mapping. Another thing is to get the free snoize MIDI monitor utility and run it in standalone mode - it will tell you what's being sent from your vdrums. The GM mapping for drums should look like this: http://www.voidaudio.net/percussion.html
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2018, 07:49 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: Recording with V-Drums. Help!

UM1 mac driver? (MacOS specific)
https://www.roland.com/global/suppor...dates_drivers/
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2018, 09:08 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: Recording with V-Drums. Help!

Really!
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem: Recording Electric Drums via Midi with Addictive Drums (Latency problem) Don Bravo General Discussion 5 07-04-2014 11:49 PM
Recording drums patswope The Drum Room 9 01-01-2011 10:44 PM
Recording Drums fenderrocker General Discussion 1 08-06-2009 02:34 PM
What to put under drums for recording? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-05-2004 07:14 PM
Recording Drums josephk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-05-2003 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com