Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2018, 01:45 PM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hollis, NY
Posts: 9
Default Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

Just obtained PT10HD... Im looking to purchase and install Waves plug-ins as well as other 3rd party plug-ins into my system. Does PT10HD accept AAX? RTAS only? Both? Please advise. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2018, 09:06 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 770
Default Re: Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

rtas plus 32 bit aax.

but make sure the installer will run in 10.8.5

some installers only run 10.9 or higher.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2018, 04:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,737
Default Re: Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
rtas plus 32 bit aax.

but make sure the installer will run in 10.8.5

some installers only run 10.9 or higher.
I believe the current WLC (Waves Licensing Center) and WavesHell requires OSX 10.10.5 or higher. There may be older installers available from Waves but the op will be locked out of the newer plugins.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2018, 09:19 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hollis, NY
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

Thank you Mixerguy and musicman691 for your responses. I actually checked Waves website and it looks like I would have to install version 9.6 to work with my current system. Here is the link -> https://www.waves.com/support/tech-s...ts#version-9-6

Thanks for your help and advice once again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2018, 11:36 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

As far as I know Waves Central will run on 10.9. It works fine on my work system. Pro Tools 10 will also work on OS 10.9.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2018, 12:00 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,737
Default Re: Pro Tools 10HD on MacPro OSX 10.8.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
As far as I know Waves Central will run on 10.9. It works fine on my work system. Pro Tools 10 will also work on OS 10.9.
But which version of WC? As I mentioned in another thread the latest WC needs Yosemite
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Pro Tools 10HD Jimothy Buy & Sell 2 12-05-2017 01:59 AM
WTB: Pro tools 10HD Aitchyman Buy & Sell 0 01-10-2017 04:15 PM
Pat 10HD with MacPro and PCIE TDM cards starfields@aol.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-22-2015 09:04 AM
PT 10HD compatibility with MacPro 3,1 starfields@aol.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-25-2015 06:32 PM
Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay) Concept Chelia Pro Tools 10 7 09-12-2014 04:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com