Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2018, 01:13 PM
Inglesworth Inglesworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 171
Default Waves Licensing question

The studio I work at has recently purchased a new Mac Pro to upgrade one of our older systems.

The old system is on OS 10.8.5, and I have some Waves plugins that have been installed on it since forever ago...

I want to deactivate my licenses, and be able to use them on the newer system. However, the Waves License Manager software hasn't worked in OS 10.8.5 for quite some time. Every time I try to log in, it just hangs for a minute or 2 and then doesn't log in.

About a year ago, I went through all kinds of trouble with Waves tech support on trying to get a new waves plugin on that old system. It turns out it would have forced an uninstall of all the older ones and we wouldn't be able to reinstall everything and I was told it was because my computer was on 10.8.5, etc. It created much hassle, so we just didn't use that plugin on this system. Anyways, the point being that I know for a fact that it doesn't let me log in because of the older OS.

I can't seem to deactivate any licenses when logged into my account on their website either. I put in a support request, but I am not trying to wait up to 24 hours for this, as I am here to install the new machine today (need to pull HD cards and put in new chassis, etc. SO it's either one system or the other).

Does anyone know how to disable my waves licenses on 10.8.5?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 03:18 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 650
Default Re: Waves Licensing question

Itís always problematic trying to run any type of software on older systems. After a number of years they are no longer supported because it becomes economically unviable to keep updating them. Itís brutal, but thatís the nature of things.

Unfortunately I know of no other way t transfer licenses without the use of using the Recovery feature. Going through the Tech Support is really the only thing you can do. You canít transfer these licenses online, and you canít transfer them from another system, this is for security reasons. You can only transfer them back to the cloud on the computer you are running.

However, in the future it may be possible to store your lines on an external USB drive which is a more portable solution.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2018, 03:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: Waves Licensing question

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
Itís always problematic trying to run any type of software on older systems. After a number of years they are no longer supported because it becomes economically unviable to keep updating them. Itís brutal, but thatís the nature of things.

Unfortunately I know of no other way t transfer licenses without the use of using the Recovery feature. Going through the Tech Support is really the only thing you can do. You canít transfer these licenses online, and you canít transfer them from another system, this is for security reasons. You can only transfer them back to the cloud on the computer you are running.

However, in the future it may be possible to store your lines on an external USB drive which is a more portable solution.
It's been possible for some time now to put one's Waves license assets on a thumb drive or memory card. I've used an old memory card from my dslr (camera) for that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2018, 07:38 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 650
Default Re: Waves Licensing question

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
It's been possible for some time now to put one's Waves license assets on a thumb drive or memory card. I've used an old memory card from my dslr (camera) for that.
Yes it has been there since Waves Central first came out. Just making sure the OP is aware of the option.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2018, 11:34 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,041
Default Re: Waves Licensing question

To the OP, just an FYI but you can also install OS 10.9 on the computer you are running. Pro Tools 10 HD will run on that system and Waves Central will also run on it. Just an option.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2018, 11:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: Waves Licensing question

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
To the OP, just an FYI but you can also install OS 10.9 on the computer you are running. Pro Tools 10 HD will run on that system and Waves Central will also run on it. Just an option.
WC will run but not the current version. One needs Yosemite to run the latest version.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licensing Question compositor Licensing & Accounts 5 03-26-2017 10:47 PM
Waves and Avid new licensing thoughts musicman691 General Discussion 1 10-27-2014 01:52 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 05:09 PM
Waves licensing on Venue? rolybarabas VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 01-07-2010 05:59 PM
Licensing question... matts9383 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-28-2004 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com