Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2018, 10:55 AM
zelenov zelenov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3
Default D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

When I use the D-Verb, the reverb tail has a tone fluctuation, it is very noticeable and absolutely impossible to use.
Other reverbs OK.
I attach some spectrograms
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	D-verb tail.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	10453   Click image for larger version

Name:	Other Reverb tail.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	10454  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2018, 11:02 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,230
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

Absolutely impossible to use you say? Modulation has been added to digital reverbs as a way to create more natural reverb tails for ages, check out Exponential Audio takes on the classic Lexicon sound for example. I'm sure you have your reasons not to want this modulation and I'm not sure if that can be turned off in D-Verb (never had any 0roblem using D-Verb) but there are plenty of other reverb plugins (even free) that you can use instead. Cheers
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2018, 11:58 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

Don’t use the first two options - Hall and Church.

The rest of the algorithms don’t have the modulation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2018, 11:43 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

I've noticed this as well. It's been an issue for as long as I can remember. I doubt Avid is going to change it after all this time.

A better Avid plug for reverb is Space. Of course, there are a million third-party plugs for reverb.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2018, 05:56 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,959
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Don’t use the first two options - Hall and Church.

The rest of the algorithms don’t have the modulation.

+1


Actually I use the chorus effect of Hall and Church as an effect on some tracks.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2018, 06:21 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,436
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

https://valhalladsp.com/2009/07/30/m...and-unreality/
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2018, 07:40 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 390
Default Re: D-Ver'sb tail has tone fluctuation

Quote:
Originally Posted by zelenov View Post
When I use the D-Verb
OT
I love the fact that 17 years went between this post about DVerb and your (zelenovs) last one before this, which was about Mac to Mac direct networking and FireWire.

What a special gem this place DUC can be. What a memory lane trip :)
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.3 #17D102 (High Sierra)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test Tone Audio File or Tone Generator Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-15-2005 06:28 AM
002 Rack Monitor Output Volume Fluctuation rdatman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-19-2005 12:50 AM
What kHz Tone to Generate for Tone generator SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-30-2004 07:50 AM
tail pop? anders Post - Surround - Video 1 02-03-2003 09:57 PM
shaggy vs 'his tail' TooLoud 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-10-2002 08:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com