Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2018, 05:26 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,737
Default Izotope RX6 help file ?

Anybody have an idea of where the help file is supposed to be for RX6? I was working with the demo for RX Elements and decided to give the demo for RX6 a try. Downloaded the file and installed it. Standalone opens fine but when I go to access the help file I get an error message saying the file can't be found in the specified location and to reinstall RX6. Nowheres does it say where the file is supposed to be; during install an item comes up saying the path to the html file is being set but never shows what the path is.

I reinstalled RX6 and no joy with the help file. So I uninstalled RX6, rebooted the computer, reinstalled RX6 and still get the same error message. Looked at the Izotope knowledge base and there's nothing on this. The only known restriction to the demo according to Izotope is no saving. Even trying to get to the help file via the button when using a module in PT I get the error message.

All my other Izotope s/w finds their help files no problem. If anyone has an idea I'd appreciate the help.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2018, 06:27 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,737
Default Re: Izotope RX6 help file ?

I think I found the problem. Going from the thing of the program file was installed in the root Applications folder I started rooting around in the main folder on my boot drive. Comparing where the help files for my other Izotope programs were in my user documents folder I went looking for a similar folder in the documents folder on the root drive which is called Beethoven (that's the name I gave the computer when I first started it up after purchase). I found the help file folder and did an option/drag to the Izotope folder in my user folder (named Mozart) and voila - I now have the help file available via the question mark or F1 key from inside RX or individual plugins.

Izotope doesn't give one a choice of where to install RX or files which is funny because I have no problem with my other Izotope stuff. Or for that matter any other plugin.

As to naming things it's an old habit I picked up years back from Jerry Pournelle when he used to write a column for BYTE magazine. Now there's a walk down memory lane for all you geeks. Couple that with having a fascination with classical composers and there you go.

I did send off a support request to Izotope; wonder what I'll get back and when. With the holiday weekend I'm not expecting anything quickly.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope RX Loudness and Izotope Insight: Worth the purchase? Piano Pete General Discussion 3 01-04-2017 09:52 PM
Question: Converting an audio drum file to a MIDI file? ctyelvis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-18-2010 06:56 AM
izotope file missing ramiro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-29-2009 11:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com