Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2003, 01:01 PM
Big Tyme Big Tyme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

57's as overheads??? I never heard of that. I thought the 57's were generally for snare & toms?? Have you ever tried it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2003, 01:20 PM
BigRedButton BigRedButton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

Using dynamic mics (such as 57s) as OHs can be very cool. They have a natural compression and warmth that condensers sometimes lack. Of course, you won't get quite the same crispness, clarity, and response out of them, but the results can be very cool!

Give em' a try.

Just about every mic combination and application has been used at some point, and all have their place.

The key is to always try new things and to think outside the box.

Have fun, and keep us posted of your results!
__________________
"Sometimes I doubt your commitment to Sparkle Motion."

BigRedButton / Jackson Jackson
www.jacksonbjackson.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2003, 02:27 PM
NetCline NetCline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Studio B
Posts: 115
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

Try one of them new " stereo Cords " I think they call them "XLR"---" Cross of Left and Right" [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Just A DIGI Does It
B-Layne Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2003, 02:33 PM
NetCline NetCline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Studio B
Posts: 115
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

For The budget minded, Mackie posted a feature plug in their Magazine. (wish I could post the picture), But it was called the "Stick and String" connector and they had it attached to the "Tin Can Pickup Mic". Says you can run 100ft of cord with no signal loss. I have not been able to find the adapter plug to hook up to the mixer yet.
Jeff
__________________
Just A DIGI Does It
B-Layne Productions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2003, 12:41 AM
Big Tyme Big Tyme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 75
Default Only 1 Overhead Mic???

I have an akg c4000b. I cant afford a second one just yet. Is it posssible to just center it over the drum kit??? What do you guys think???

I am also using (4) sm57's and a Beta 52 by Shure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2003, 12:55 AM
Agug123 Agug123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 162
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

whay not use 2 57s up top and the akg on the hats?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2003, 12:58 AM
BigRedButton BigRedButton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Only 1 Overhead Mic???

Mono Drum OH or room mic?

I do it all the time. It all depends on the drum sound you're going for.

Try everything!
__________________
"Sometimes I doubt your commitment to Sparkle Motion."

BigRedButton / Jackson Jackson
www.jacksonbjackson.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overhead compression skwad Tips & Tricks 2 12-21-2006 10:08 AM
overhead mic placement Jasperdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-01-2005 05:41 AM
Overhead mic placement????????????????????????? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-12-2003 08:46 AM
overhead mic question sipi1910 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-07-2003 11:38 AM
What are the best overhead mics??? Big Tyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-18-2002 03:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com