Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2018, 02:08 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...like-pro-tools

I don't suppose it'll make any practical difference, but looks like a new numbering regime is upon us. Though that said, I like the idea of patch updates (if they are reliable of course):

Quote:
Avid's aim is that whenever possible, software updates will be released as both full installers and patch updates to make upgrading easier.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2018, 02:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,703
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12

Makes sense to me. Much like numbering highway exits for the mile marker where they are located
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2018, 11:55 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Here's the direct info from Avid.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...on-Changes-FAQ
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2018, 10:52 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

What will happen with this forum structure, I wonder? It's actually quite hard to think of an elegant, simple solution. A main subforum named by year, and everything else folded into legacy products?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2018, 12:25 PM
Riture's Avatar
Riture Riture is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
... I like the idea of patch updates...
A somewhat standard practice among software developers with regards to product versioning and release management is major, minor and patch. Using years and months is more or less a business decision than an improvement in design. Of course it will take a little while to get used to .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2018, 09:38 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riture View Post
A somewhat standard practice among software developers with regards to product versioning and release management is major, minor and patch. Using years and months is more or less a business decision than an improvement in design. Of course it will take a little while to get used to .
Reading the Avid bumph, it looks like this is how Media Composer has worked for a while, but it'll be new to PT.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2018, 10:30 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,312
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Media Composer just switched with the last update as did Application Manager.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2018, 11:05 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

All good, i don't care what its called as long as we have regular bug fixes :)

Patch updates sounds great to me!
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2018, 12:45 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,722
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

A PT user -What version do you have?

Someone - I am on 2018.3.87 HD

Sounds very convoluted to me. I was hoping to see PT13HD this quarter, not PT HD2018.2.12345 ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2018, 01:05 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
What versiondo you have?

I amon 2018.3.87 HD

Sounds very convoluted to me. I was hoping to see PT13HD this quarter, not PT HD2018.2.12345 ...
Mine just says 12.8.3

didn't realise there had been an update.

Mine is just vanilla non HD but at minimum i'll be upgrading to HD software soon, then eventually hardware.. perhaps HD releases get priority?
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easiest way to check a plugin's version number under Win 10(?) leftalive Windows 12 10-25-2017 04:05 PM
Artist Mix - Eucon 3.0 introduces a new output/bus assignment scheme in Pro tools 11 Emcha_audio Artist Series 1 09-24-2013 01:39 AM
Artist V1 & V2 Serial Number Scheme sonikimage Artist Series 2 09-27-2011 04:20 PM
Color Scheme... Melmoth Pro Tools 9 1 01-14-2011 04:33 PM
iTune blues: Number nine. Number nine. Number nine. shaggy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2001 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com