Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:07 AM
maxidud999 maxidud999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Viera
Posts: 44
Default what does an external compressor do exactly

hi I'm just getting into home recording with avid, and i want to know what compressing does, external compressor vs plugin compressor, I've been using pro tools for a little while now but just for basic demos but want to expand my knowledge and get better quality results, any help would be great
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:33 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: what does an external compressor do exactly

A compressor makes the loud parts softer (controls the dynamic range)

Depends on were the compressor is in the chain:

When recording a compressor between the mic pre and the ADC can help prevent digital clipping of the ADC

During mixing it would be a matter of preference of the sound of the external compressor over the sound of the plug-in
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2014, 03:30 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,903
Default Re: what does an external compressor do exactly

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_range_compression
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2014, 11:55 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,705
Default Re: what does an external compressor do exactly

Insert a software compressor and play to your heart's content. That the best way to learn what it does(as well as learning how different compressors, real OR plugin, affect the same sound, but in somewhat different ways).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
external compressor with le and 003 tutti frutti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-01-2009 06:51 AM
External compressor and PT Gus77 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-18-2009 08:58 AM
Routing external Compressor in my 002 DLinares 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-23-2007 03:56 PM
External compressor and the M-box 2 jlo1182 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-27-2005 05:07 AM
question about using external compressor stephen duffy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-20-2003 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com