Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2014, 05:28 AM
Ronniedawg Ronniedawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default Before I Start - Advice!

In the next week I'll be setting up my new home studio and need some advice before I get started. Here's what I'll be putting together; Pro Tools m-powered 8.0 (I've had it sitting in a box for a while), Mackie 1220i (firewire), laptop with Windows 7, and an Ampeg Plug in from IK Multimedia. Anyone with advice on what to install first, what to look for, etc, would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2014, 07:14 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronniedawg View Post
In the next week I'll be setting up my new home studio and need some advice before I get started. Here's what I'll be putting together; Pro Tools m-powered 8.0 (I've had it sitting in a box for a while), Mackie 1220i (firewire), laptop with Windows 7, and an Ampeg Plug in from IK Multimedia. Anyone with advice on what to install first, what to look for, etc, would be much appreciated.
Hi,

You'll need to download the m powered specific driver for the 1220i. I think it was an optional purchase so make sure you have this option otherwise m powered won't see it as an interface.

Install m powered first, then the driver mentioned above. Then test to make sure PT boots up and works. Then install the Ampeg plugin.

The Ampeg has been replaced and us now with amplitude but the original Ampeg installers are still on their website so you might have to look for it.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2014, 07:15 AM
stevecaboose stevecaboose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 26
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Not to sound rude or anything but I have seen plenty of posts similar to yours. Where someone has absolutely no idea how to set up and interface and all the software. I recommend that you stop and educate yourself. There's lots of great places to find information about setting up hardware and software. If you don't know how to even setup your equipment you are no where near ready to use Pro Tools.

Here's some places where you can learn more:

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/
youtube.com
google.com
avid.com


Again, not trying to be rude but if you educate yourself you will save yourself a lot of headache. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2014, 07:26 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Also, double check that M-Powered works with Windows 7. All the references I see mention Windows XP.

As for the Ampeg pack, you want to download and install Amplitube 3 Free, which serves as the host for running all Amplitube plugins. You don't need to install the Ampeg pack if you've registered it. You install the Custom Shop application, then click "Restore My Gear". From then on you can use it in Amplitube 3 (which is the plugin you will be selecting).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2014, 08:08 AM
Ronniedawg Ronniedawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Thanks guys, I am waiting on the Mackie since its on back order so I have time to wait and ask questions. Basically, I was looking for "what to watch out for" info. I do appreciate all the replies. I asked about Windows 7 and since its a newer version than XP, it'll be fine - Avid should have used the term "or newer" in the line for version 8 of pro tools list. More so, was looking for info on the Ampeg plug in....and chain of events, very helpful, thanks. SteveCaboose, you're not being rude and thanks for the link too, the site is amazing.

Just want to ensure I do everything right when I put this all together. Just heard about some problems with the mackie/onyx boards - mostly user errors that caused problems, not the product. The more I read the more I get freaked out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2014, 11:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Major problems here. M-Powered Pro Tools only works with M-Audio interfaces(and you need 8.0.5 to run on Windows 7). To use the Mackie with Pro Tools, you need regular Pro Tools(not M-Powered) and version 9 or later You might consider saving some cash(not to mention some sanity) and try using REAPER on your computer(which SHOULD work with the Mackie). Most any DAW software these days, will get the job done, but some combinations just don't work.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:04 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Regarding M-Powered, I was under the impression that Mackie had made some of their stuff work with it. That's why I didn't say anything at first. But maybe that's not the case anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2014, 07:34 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronniedawg View Post
Basically, I was looking for "what to watch out for" info.
The number one key thing is to make your sure your computer is completely compatible with Pro Tools. If it doesn't meet the system requirements, it won't function properly:
Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2014, 08:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Regarding M-Powered, I was under the impression that Mackie had made some of their stuff work with it. That's why I didn't say anything at first. But maybe that's not the case anymore.
Well, someone please correct me if I am wrong, but its been my belief that MP software(all numeric versions) only works with M-Audio hardware
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2014, 09:11 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: Before I Start - Advice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Well, someone please correct me if I am wrong, but its been my belief that MP software(all numeric versions) only works with M-Audio hardware
There was the Pro Tools M-Powered and Mackie ONYXi era back in the day. In brief, Mackie got it working(their own driver), then Avid and Mackie eventually teamed up after the internet forum riots. You were part of the riots.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lion Pro Tools SE won't start on one account, but start on another AndrewGalas Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 12-15-2011 11:06 AM
Advice please....don't want to start a mac/pc battle but I do need all your help sinistertyles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-03-2009 08:26 AM
Downloaded PT 8 and it wont start PT logo moves but doesnt start????????? protonneutron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-30-2008 03:25 PM
Can I start Playback at Session Start Time? LSW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-19-2006 03:04 PM
Pro Tools 5.1 Session Start—Record Start Interval Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-18-2001 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com