Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 04:05 AM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Can I use my older model (MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

Hi guys,

A buddy of mine aquired an older model(all black in colour) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control a few years ago, it's just MIDI and not USB but the wall adapter was missing and he never did manage to get a replacement for it. So, he turned around and gave it to me, I got it free which is awesome but it's totally useless without the external power supply.

There's no model number anywhere on the controller or even on the cardboard box that it came in, a bit weird. So if somebody here can help me figure out what I should be buying for a replacement that would be super appreciated.

BTW. Here is a YouTube video that shows the model that I know own:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwqtSSJSgvE

But since this is a Pro Tools forum, my main reason for posting here is that the info on the box lists all the DAWs that it can be used with and there's a bunch of them. Pro Tools is listed at the very top but there is a note that says:
"visit www.mackie.com for details on the Free pro Tools Compatability Kit"

But that was so long ago that that page doesn't exist anymore over at the Mackie website. And it looks like they don't offer any support for discontinued products. I did send them an email but I'm not going to hold my breath expecting an answer from them to be honest.

Maybe there's something that can be downloaded from Avid for this purpose?

I'm not a tech savvy person in this kind of thing so I'm hoping that somebody here can chime in with some advice.

If I could at least track down a power supply for it, it might work with Pro Tools 12.7.1 right out of the gate without having to chase down some kind of download to get the MIDI mapping to work correctly.

It would be awesome to get this thing set up in my little studio, it's quite a high quality looking piece of gear.
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 10:37 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,095
Default Re: Can I use my older model(MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

Search is your friend.

Here's some information as to what DAWs it works with and how.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2018, 10:53 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Can I use my older model(MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

You're sure it's not sending MIDI over USB?

In that case, once you get a correctly spec'd PSU, hook up both MIDI in & out, select the unit under the MIDI page of the Peripherals dialogue, and It should work with HUI.

There was a flash update for the Mackie units eprom, that added functionality specifically for Pro Tools.

Search around Mackie forums, here, and places like Gearslutz, to see if you can get the installer - check if it's definitely compatible with your device, and figure out how to install it, this far down the road.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2018, 12:35 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Can I use my older model(MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

Thanks The Weed and Carl, your help is greatly appreciated!

BTW, it looks like the Mackie Forum was axed quite a few years ago.

I noticed earlier today that on the cardboard box that it came in it says "Mackie 2002". So it's pretty old.

There's also a long list of DAWs on there, Pro Tools is number one but with that note about downloading that "Pro Tools compatibility kit".

All of the other listed DAWs are ready to go by the looks of it, just my luck. There is only MIDI in and out on this thing, no USB. On one of the YouTube videos that I found on this unit, the guy explains that you route these over to the MIDI in and out of your digital interface, which I do have on mine.

Without being knowledgeable at all on how to get old hardware to work with Pro Tools 12, I have a gut feeling that it can be made to work, somehow,.... but I have nothing to back up that assertion. LOL.

I'd be happy if I could get most of the functions to work with Pro Tools, the basic stuff like faders. Solo and Mute switches, being able to toggle between the Mix and Edit windows, etc..................
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM

Last edited by Burstbucker; 02-07-2018 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2018, 12:51 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Can I use my older model(MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

As it stands, you're only going to be out of pocket to the tune of a compatible PSU - a worthwhile gamble.

If it won't work for Pro Tools without the firmware upgrade, and you cannot get hold of a copy (which I think you will be able to find, even if you have to buy a CD-ROM off eBay), or can't run the update (which should be possible on a Windows machine), then at least you can sell it for a small profit, to a user of a different DAW.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2018, 06:28 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Can I use my older model(MIDI) Mackie 8 Channel Master Control with PT12?

Yes Carl, that is exactly how I am looking at it. Thanks a million!

I've finally found a part number for the power supply, it's a hefty one. Puts out 7.5 VDC at 4 amps:

MACKIE SB-074A0F-11 SP36907MR DC Power Supply Cord Charger PSU

Maybe that will help somebody else if they are looking for a replacement power supply.
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12 and Mackie Universal Control track names scrambled, anyone? Cacov Pro Tools 12 5 04-16-2017 11:56 PM
Mackie Control (Original Midi) and PT12.7 spock999 Pro Tools 12 3 04-16-2017 01:48 PM
Pro Tools Mackie Control. master fader?? Kerochan Pro Tools 12 2 07-05-2016 12:37 AM
Mackie HUI/Control Universal MIDI problems??? Finchy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-14-2015 09:22 AM
PT LE 7.0 WinXP + Mackie Control -> Master Fader ? raerae28 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-16-2006 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com