Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-22-2018, 01:20 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,727
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
Mine just says 12.8.3

didn't realise there had been an update.

Mine is just vanilla non HD but at minimum i'll be upgrading to HD software soon, then eventually hardware.. perhaps HD releases get priority?
Sorry, I was not pointing that post to anyone .. just a jab at how we might talk about versions inthe future hehe

Edited mypost with a "banter" Sorry for the confusion
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-22-2018, 03:25 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

rofl read your edited post, got it now. My bad!
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-22-2018, 04:00 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,727
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
rofl read your edited post, got it now. My bad!


I was unclear and I saw that so I edited the post and it is still sheeeeet but you get what I was trying to say hehe
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-22-2018, 05:31 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

One of the big PITA with the Avid annual upgrade plan (from my perspective) has been that every update was a full installer - and a fairly sizeable file at that.

You want Avid to keep pumping out regular updates, but when you're dealing with a new, full installer, every couple of months... it's just not worth the headache.

So I'm glad to see that Avid are now going to be supplying patch installers.

Here's the thing though - I already decided that I'm going back to Avid's old business model, on my terms :

Avid release a version of PT that offers added features, and stability, that I require - I pay the reinstatement fee ( and get a years worth of patches / updates), which pretty much equates to an upgrade using the old business model.

I let my plan lapse, and carry on working (a year, two years, maybe three) until Avid release another worthwhile version, and I reinstate again.

It may cost me more, it may work out the same - I may even make a saving - but I'm buying the product I want, when I want it, without the hassle, and upheaval.

I actually welcome this slight return to the old way of releasing updates, with the news that patches will be made available - though I still feel the notion of monthly updates is a double edged sword.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-22-2018, 06:21 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,528
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
So I'm glad to see that Avid are now going to be supplying patch installers.

Hmmmm... I don’t think they are literally going to be releasing patches for Pro Tools. I still think it’s going to be rolled into a full installer.

I may be wrong, but I think we’ll be disappointed if we expect the updates to be similar to say Mac OS point update or supplemental update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-22-2018, 09:11 PM
Riture's Avatar
Riture Riture is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
... I don’t think they are literally going to be releasing patches for Pro Tools. I still think it’s going to be rolled into a full installer...
I suspect you are right. Main advantages for literal small patch updates is fast roll out (as soon as a patch is available) and size. However, when a clean (re)install is necessary, one has to install the main full installer followed by its subsequent patches. It will be nice to offer both choices but it may lead to increased cost (due to testing multiple files, planning, storage...).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2018, 01:27 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: The end of Pro Tools 12 (new version number scheme)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Hmmmm... I don’t think they are literally going to be releasing patches for Pro Tools. I still think it’s going to be rolled into a full installer.

I may be wrong, but I think we’ll be disappointed if we expect the updates to be similar to say Mac OS point update or supplemental update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I read somewhere that they will simultaneously release a full installer, and just the patch installer.

Guess we'll have to wait and see.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easiest way to check a plugin's version number under Win 10(?) leftalive Windows 12 10-25-2017 04:05 PM
Artist Mix - Eucon 3.0 introduces a new output/bus assignment scheme in Pro tools 11 Emcha_audio Artist Series 1 09-24-2013 01:39 AM
Artist V1 & V2 Serial Number Scheme sonikimage Artist Series 2 09-27-2011 04:20 PM
Color Scheme... Melmoth Pro Tools 9 1 01-14-2011 04:33 PM
iTune blues: Number nine. Number nine. Number nine. shaggy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2001 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com