Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-18-2020, 11:22 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Avid Audio Interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Reviews tend to focus on features and sound quality, not RTL numbers (which are good enough if most can record and monitor with them). Maybe their Windows drivers suck big time? I wouldn't know, everyone I know is on Mac
Well the performance on windows is what sucks.. which I guess means, yes, crappy windows drivers.

RTL numbers was only a tiny part of my point.. even at say 256 buffer, they are at the bottom of the heap for how well they can run a large project with lots of plugins vs many other interfaces.

I bought their first ever interface, the white firewire one with DSP effects, and they dropped support a year later.. it wouldn't even work on snow leopard. That left a very sour taste in my mouth, however when I was looking for a small usb interface, I did consider them again until I found out about constant issues with drivers all around the web.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-18-2020, 11:39 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,393
Default Re: Avid Audio Interface

Windows is an afterthought on audio world anyway


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2020, 07:47 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Re: Avid Audio Interface

Thanks to everyone who responded. It turns out that the issur was running PT 11.3 in Windows 10. I upgraded to the most recent version and the interface I had works as always.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2020, 07:48 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,393
Default Re: Avid Audio Interface

For future reference, compatibility info here. Please bookmark.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP: Routing MacPro system audio through Avid interface... Darryl Duncan Pro Tools 12 2 10-23-2016 11:48 AM
No Audio from Avid Interface on Core 2 Duo Mac with OS X Mavericks mega.riviera FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 85 09-04-2015 12:18 AM
Can Avid HEAT run in PTHD 10/11 without an Avid Audio Interface or HDX Card? hatepop Pro Tools 11 1 12-19-2013 01:26 AM
For Sale Avid HD I/O 8x8x8 Audio Interface for Pro Tools HD johnwyseone Buy & Sell 0 12-16-2013 09:08 AM
Avid! I bought LE, an M-Audio interface, I ain't buying M-Powered as well! Upgrade? RhysC General Discussion 9 07-23-2010 03:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com