Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2018, 02:43 AM
Veledron Veledron is offline
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 1
Default Mbox Pro 3: master volume knob won't affect volume at all

Hi everyone,

Unfortunately, there is no official Avid reseller to take on repairs of music hardware in my country, so I'd like to get some clues.

The master volume knob on my Mbox Pro 3 just stopped working. It can be turned hard either to the left or to the right, but that won't affect volume at all. I can change volume using headphones knobs, Mbox control panel, or knobs on my speakers. But the sound interface's master knob is dead.

Is this a definite hardware failure? Or probably there might be something else, like disabled settings in control panel, or so? Would be grateful for any hints.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 08:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,379
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3: master volume knob won't affect volume at all

In this case, I would be tempted(assuming the sound is fine) to buy the smallest mixer from Behringer and route the output of the Mbox thru the mixer(so you can use the mixer output knob to control volume). That might be cheaper than getting the Mbox repaired
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 07:20 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,904
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3: master volume knob won't affect volume at all

This is how I would see it, also assuming the sound is fine:
The volume control on the mbox and the volume control in the control panel does the same thing; they set the output volume on the hardware. (At least that's how my Apogee Duet works.) So, I would find a nice, comfortable level on the monitors and control panel, and just use a master fader in the sessions to control it. And forget about repair or investments. Maybe make a habit of setting the master fader at -10db to have more flexibility.
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro (3rd Gen) volume knob kagoodwin13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-18-2012 05:33 AM
Mbox Pro 3 master volume knob initial adjust jumps from no sound to sound : | Focuret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2012 05:45 PM
MBox 3 Pro Master Volume Knob...Ugh! Help anackman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-15-2011 01:42 PM
002R Volume knob=Control24 Volume knob?? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 04:04 PM
Does Submixer volume knob affect submixer outputs? MarkHessburg ICON & C|24 1 10-18-2005 10:46 PM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com