Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:39 AM
loginame loginame is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default Protools 6.4 and Windows 7

Hi,

I recently updated my pc from windows xp to windows 7. When I try to load PT 6.4 (Original Mbox) I keep getting messages about not having a DAE.dll file. I've researched this and discovered that PT 6.4 isn't compatible with windows 7 and updates have been discontinued. I therefore tried to load PT 6.4 through windows virtual pc - an application that creates a virtual windows xp system - but the same messages come up.

Is it at all possible to run PT 6.4 (Original Mbox) through windows 7 or windows virtual pc, or should I give up and buy new software/hardware altogether?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:54 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,902
Default Re: Protools 6.4 and Windows 7

Win7 needs PT v8.04 or higher to run. The original Mbox is not supported by PT v8.03 or higher which by the sound of it you already know.

Looks like the windows virtual pc thing isn't working so I would be inclined to upgrade, or run the current version on an XP partition in a Dual Boot configuration so you have access to XP & Win7.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/8790/...puter-with-xp/
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2014, 09:44 PM
supernova777 supernova777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora, ON
Posts: 33
Default Re: Protools 6.4 and Windows 7

i just read that someone was able to install 6.1.1 with an audiomediaIII card in windows 7.. the trick is that they used windows 7 32bit instead of 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2014, 11:01 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: Protools 6.4 and Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by loginame View Post
Is it at all possible to run PT 6.4 (Original Mbox) through windows 7 or windows virtual pc, or should I give up and buy new software/hardware altogether?
Forget Windows Virtual PC or any other hypervisor solution, they are unlikely to recognize audio interfaces and even if they did it would give poor/unreliable performance because of the CPU overhead, CPU and device IO latency that technology adds. Fantastic stuff for running non-audio/non-video legacy applications however.

You need to upgrade your hardware and software, or keep a dedicated PC running old Windows etc. for your DAW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows ProTools 10 freezes at the click of "Install ProTools 10" JakeStrauss Windows 1 10-01-2012 08:53 PM
Protools 10.2 and Windows 8 HKnight Windows 11 09-09-2012 10:12 AM
Running Mac ProTools files on Windows ProTools DJ_Invisible_Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-16-2009 04:07 PM
convert Mac protools 7.0 to windows protools 6.4? Strainj1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 11-07-2006 10:42 AM
Will Protools 5.1 run on Windows XP pro? HELP!! Brian Maxwell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-27-2003 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com