Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 12:49 PM
k.shashidhar k.shashidhar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rochester
Posts: 1
Default Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

Hey everyone,

I have an Mbox Pro 3 and just last week it was working fine. Usually I turn it off every night when I am done using it but one day I left it on for an entire day. Then the next day and now for a week every time I turn it on I get a blinking power light and it is not registered by my computer. However it does still recognize the monitors that are connected. I tried reinstalling drivers (Version 1.1.3) but that didn't solve the issue.

I am running Pro Tools 10 of a Macbook Pro
OSX 10.8.2
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 8GB Ram

Someone please help. I am having way too many issues with the Mbox Pro and it is really impeding my workflow.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 03:51 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,476
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

Quote:
Originally Posted by k.shashidhar View Post
Hey everyone,

I have an Mbox Pro 3 and just last week it was working fine. Usually I turn it off every night when I am done using it but one day I left it on for an entire day. Then the next day and now for a week every time I turn it on I get a blinking power light and it is not registered by my computer. However it does still recognize the monitors that are connected. I tried reinstalling drivers (Version 1.1.3) but that didn't solve the issue.

I am running Pro Tools 10 of a Macbook Pro
OSX 10.8.2
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 8GB Ram

Someone please help. I am having way too many issues with the Mbox Pro and it is really impeding my workflow.
Hi,

What do you mean by.... "However it does still recognize the monitors that are connected."

Is the Mbox showing in the audio midi setup (AMS) page?

When you go to the setup / playback engine is the Mbox available in the list at the top for audio engine device?

Also try booting pro tools holding the N key to open with no audio engine/interface selected, then try as above in the playback engine to see if you can select the Mbox as the audio device/audio engine.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2013, 05:26 PM
Shabbysheik Shabbysheik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

There seems to be something going on with Mbox 3 Pro interfaces. Similar things happened to me and others as documented in this thread.

I had mine go through the dread blinking power light/Hardware device not recognized after a firmware update. Tried reverting back, clean sweep and reinstall of PT, N key startup, etc. Haven't had much luck. Jumped back to my 002R because it works. Just haven't had the time to trouble shoot more.

Check this thread.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=329164

J
__________________
Jason Shablik
http://www.jasonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:39 AM
slobrien slobrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

I have this same blinking power light issue and mine started just the way your did it just started one day after about two months after purchase. I found that if I open up itunes or any web page that has to play audio and play something my mbox meters flash and the blinking stops and everything works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2013, 04:58 PM
Intini Intini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK and Brazil
Posts: 220
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

I had the same problem and in the end it was the MBox 3 Pro original firewire cable that was defective. Try changing it.
I posted my case in this thread:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=339568
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2015, 06:57 PM
SmokeShades SmokeShades is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

I just had this problem, after trying a new usb cable it started working again. I then switched over to the old cable and gave the box a little tap when the lights started blinking, for some reason this fixed it, I wouldnt generally recommend trying something like that but whats done is done and im recording again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2016, 11:38 AM
Crazycol's Avatar
Crazycol Crazycol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

I have had the blinking light which came on for no reason after working fine for months. I tried everything on this thread and for some reason I had a power supply and a firewire cable connected (it worked that way for ages?????) I unplugged the power cable, unplugged the fire wire, plugged the fire wire back in with NO power cable and guess what...it worked lol.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2016, 02:17 PM
trkcorp trkcorp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cordova, TN USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 blinking power light

My Mbox3 just started this blinking thing after I upgraded from Win 7 to Win 10 in July 2016 just before the free Win 10 upgrade was to end and because it took Avid until the last minute to OK Win 10 with 12.5.2... It still works blinking or not but the blinking is annoying. If I unplug the USB cable and plug it back in the unit "reboots" and stops blinking. It only happens when I first boot the computer up... I've had it for years and it never did this until Win 10... It did not do t on Win 7, same computer... ??? Maybe the way the driver is being loaded differently somehow now?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Power light blinking help.. reyna09 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-13-2011 08:37 AM
Mbox 2 Pro Blinking front light RCSS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-05-2010 03:50 PM
Blinking Green Power Light on Mbox 2 Pro Hungerbeast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-22-2009 09:27 PM
green blinking power light on mbox 2 pro wkiw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-22-2008 11:26 AM
mbox 2 power light blinking slater 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-09-2007 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com