Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2012, 02:54 PM
VincentAlexander VincentAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default How to create click track - PT5.2.1 - Digi001

I have Protools 5.2.1 and using Digi001 on my MacG4 with OS9.

All these years, I have never been able to figure out how to create a click track usign protools within a session. I've resorted to using my little digital metronome, going out of the headphone jack with a 1/8" to 1/4" converter, then into the Digi001, created a mono track and just hit record and then play on the metronome, and actually recorded my metronome to make a beep track. Of course then, I have to do everything in slip mode and line everything up by hand all the time.

So I want to learn how to create a proper click track in Protools once and for all! I am seeing some tutorials on youtube, but they are all for Protools 8+ not for Protools 5.2.1.

So far I tried, creating a Aux track, and named it click, then I went to mix window, and in the plugins, I look for "Instrument" but I don't have any plugin called "instrument"... Do I need to get this plugin? Or does it work differently with PT 5.2.1??

Please any step by step on how to set up a click track on PT 5.2.1 THANK YOU.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:17 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 787
Default Re: How to create click track - PT5.2.1 - Digi001

Create a midi track and route it to an Aux with an instrument plugin on it (drum machine for instance).

Use the pencil tool to draw some notes and then paste them across.

Otherwise use an audio file and TCE it - simple.
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:57 AM
VincentAlexander VincentAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to create click track - PT5.2.1 - Digi001

I've noticed I don't have any instrument plugins. Do you know where I can download the instrument plugin for Protools 5.2.1?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:10 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,950
Default Re: How to create click track - PT5.2.1 - Digi001

I had a 001 and PT5 myself long time ago. I looked up backups I have of the HDs from that time, and there were no instrument plugins, you're right. And I wouldn't risk trying later plugins on that system.

Only solution I can think of (that uses midi so you can freely adjust tempo in PT on the fly) is to trigger your synth module with a midi track, and return the synth click to PT or straight to the monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2015, 04:47 PM
supernova777 supernova777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora, ON
Posts: 33
Default Re: How to create click track - PT5.2.1 - Digi001

https://refusesoftware.com/ugly
u could use this + any low end vst

i had ptfree 5.01 (on mdd) running off "midi beat clock" to
reason v3.05 (on intel mac) last night.. and it worked great..
reason slaves to pro tools transport..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Create Click Track', can it play the same note? luris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-07-2008 05:03 AM
How do I create a Click Track?!!! AndyA1979 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-08-2006 02:57 PM
CLICK TRACK-How to create? tikboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-16-2004 04:49 AM
ho do i create a click track for non midi audio kalle74 General Discussion 4 05-14-2002 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com