Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:54 AM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default enabling low-latency monitoring

Hi,
I'm using the 1010LT with Protools m-powered 7 and am having a decent amount of trouble bringing the latency down to a reasonable point, even with the buffers set to the min. In the Hardware panel it tells me that "low-latency monitoring is not enabled" but can be turned on from within the M-Audio 1010LT control panel. This option does not exist in the control panel.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2006, 07:18 PM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default hellooo?

does Digidesign simply ignore posts they dont want to look into??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2006, 11:33 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: enabling low-latency monitoring

Quote:
Hi,
I'm using the 1010LT with Protools m-powered 7 and am having a decent amount of trouble bringing the latency down to a reasonable point, even with the buffers set to the min. In the Hardware panel it tells me that "low-latency monitoring is not enabled" but can be turned on from within the M-Audio 1010LT control panel. This option does not exist in the control panel.
Give us more info, computer specs, etc... Also, there is no Pro Tools software "Low-Latency Monitoring" like you have with LE/002. Yes you can monitor via the 1010LT control panel, resulting in little latency but then you wouldn't be able to monitor through PT (Faders, Pan, etc)... If you want to monitor through PT, set your computer buffer to 128. I have mine at 256 and all is pretty good. Also, adding plug-ins to your master buss WILL create serious latency.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:02 AM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: enabling low-latency monitoring

It is pro-tools m-powered that tells me low-latency monitoring can only be enabled from the control panel (setup > hardware)
Perhaps it's just a remnant of the LE interface. But shouldn't all versions of Pro Tools be zero latency by now? Put up against other audio apps, thats a pretty significant downfall...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2006, 03:45 AM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: enabling low-latency monitoring

Quote:
It is pro-tools m-powered that tells me low-latency monitoring can only be enabled from the control panel (setup > hardware)
Perhaps it's just a remnant of the LE interface. But shouldn't all versions of Pro Tools be zero latency by now? Put up against other audio apps, thats a pretty significant downfall...
Messenger, both have their advantages and disadvantages. You see Pro Tools LE has a "Low Latency Monitoring" mode from within the software and M-Powered uses a Control Panel to do almost vitually the same. I don't often use LE so I can't really tell you if it's best for you but I've never had a problem with the Delta 1010, Firewire 1814 or AP 192 regarding latency. Like I said, I usually set to 256, monitor in PT on of I go...

Hope this helps a little...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2006, 09:11 PM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: enabling low-latency monitoring

who knows, it might just be the 1010LT, its only had one driver update since they've gone m-powered....
Pro Tools itself runs awesome, no hesitation. Just cant have the buffer any higher then 128 unless I can learn to play a note half a beat early.

I'm running osx 10.4 on a G5 Powermac dual 2.3, 1.5 GB ram, 2 hard drives (osx,data)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enabling Low Latency Monitoring mutes outputs - digi002 Rack Stayvn Pro Tools 10 10 02-15-2020 09:32 AM
lowest latency without "low latency monitoring" ? music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-11-2010 08:40 AM
Low Latency Monitoring in 8.0.3 rhendee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-08-2010 07:48 PM
zero latency monitoring!! jayq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-26-2006 08:27 AM
low latency monitoring Detuned6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-28-2003 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com