Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2005, 12:30 PM
Irl Sanders Irl Sanders is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 242
Default G5 Optical Output to 192 Optical Input

Hi -

Trying to pipe the G5s optical output into in aux input in PT6.9.2 via a 192 interface, so I can audition CDs, itunes, etc.
I have set Audio Midi Setup to match my session (48k 2-channel 16bit),
set the Sound preference pane to optical out, and created the aux input in PT usisng the Optical Enlosure jack.
I have set Harware Setup to
9-10 Input Optical (S/PDF),
9-10 Ouput Digital (Enc),
Digital format Optical (S/PDF).

The 192 and my 02R are clocked to an Aardsync. Sound is working, but I'm getting what sound like clocking error pops in the audio. Any tips?

Audio Midi Setup has an "external clock" setting, but when I try it it jumps back to internal....

Also - is there a way to get the system sounds to stay on the G5 speaker?
__________________
Irl Sanders
Music Editor
LA, CA, USA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:38 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: G5 Optical Output to 192 Optical Input

Yes, this is a bit of a conundrum, but I think the best solution is the behringer, based on price and need. It seems to do all that you require. I am awaiting one of these to interface my G5 to my DM2000 desk. This device will convert from a number of digital and analog sources and perform sample rate conversion on the fly (needed in this situation as the mac cannot sync to the digital world)
Hope this Helps
Regards
Simon L

http://www.behringer.com/SRC2496/index.cfm?lang=ENG
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 enclosed optical output seems dead! input working fine! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-05-2008 11:16 AM
Clock Issue on 192 i/o Optical [ADAT] Not Optical [Encl] Willard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-10-2007 01:23 PM
I/O LINE INPUT, I/O OPTICAL INPUT DIGI 002 RACK JOAN ROSALES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-28-2003 04:08 PM
192 : MUST select Optical format for Bay 3 to activate Enclosure Optical inputs????? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-09-2002 10:32 AM
whats the difference between adat optical and spdif optical? Vegadark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-07-2002 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com