Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-28-2018, 01:57 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 258
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
I’ve re-read this post several times but I don’t quite get it. I think this is the sentence I trip up on. How can you have iLok cloud connected before you launch PT? I realise you’re saying it isn’t connected, but I don’t understand how it can be any other way.
Just start Pro Tools, then authorise with iLok Cloud when prompted to put your iLok account details in.

This will authorise the license to the cloud and you can set this as the default action as well.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-28-2018, 02:09 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by octatonic View Post
Just start Pro Tools, then authorise with iLok Cloud when prompted to put your iLok account details in.

This will authorise the license to the cloud and you can set this as the default action as well.
Yes, I get that's how it works, but I still don't understand Eric's post as it suggests there's some other way to do it.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-28-2018, 11:06 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,791
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Yes, I get that's how it works, but I still don't understand Eric's post as it suggests there's some other way to do it.
Launch your ILM, sign in, create a cloud session, launch PT. I go over it on the video on the first page of this thread.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-28-2018, 11:47 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
Launch your ILM, sign in, create a cloud session, launch PT. I go over it on the video on the first page of this thread.
Got it now - thanks v much.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-28-2018, 12:13 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Well that was an interesting experiment. I have a second non-HD license, and I thought I'd try it in the Cloud to see what happens when the internet is lost. Deactiviated it from the iLok, then started a Cloud session in iLok Manager, and then launched PT. All went very smoothly.

Then I switched off the wifi. For the first few minutes, all carried on perfectly well, then iLok manager flashed up a warning that there was a problem with the iCloud session. PT however carried on ok for a few more minutes, and then said I needed to plug in an iLok with a license in the next 5 minutes or PT would quit. It offered me the option to save where I was which I tried to do, but then PT crashed.

So what I'm taking from this so far is that I absolutely don't want to rely on it for my main rig. If and when the internet goes, the session ultimately goes, and it may well not be graceful. Likewise I wouldn't trust it on the road. However, it might be quite handy for secondary non-critical machine chores in a stable environment.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-28-2018, 01:39 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 428
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

They need to allow you to keep the license on both the physical iLok and cloud. I understand why they wouldn't, but I'm sure they're smart enough to figure out a way to do it while preventing people from using 1 license on 2 machines simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-28-2018, 02:51 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Not working here. Maybe they didn’t roll it out to Canada yet.

When I deactivate the licenses, the only location I can réactivâtes them is my ilok. The ilok Cloud option doesn’t appear. Just my ilok.

Both from ILM or directly from protools.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-28-2018, 04:50 PM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 182
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
Not working here. Maybe they didn’t roll it out to Canada yet.

When I deactivate the licenses, the only location I can réactivâtes them is my ilok. The ilok Cloud option doesn’t appear. Just my ilok.

Both from ILM or directly from protools.
Same here and I'm in the US.
__________________
macOS Catalina 10.15.4
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro Retina, Mid 2014
16 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2019.12
RME Babyface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-28-2018, 05:48 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,836
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
Launch your ILM, sign in, create a cloud session, launch PT. I go over it on the video on the first page of this thread.
Right!! If you DON'T launch ILM before hand, ProTools will launch it and the license required for your installed version (non-HD in my case) will authorize.

If I launch ILM first, HD will load on my non-HD install as it seems to take priority over non-HD in the cloud.

Does that help?!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-28-2018, 08:34 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Pro tools ilok cloud

I got it to work.

I had to close the cloud session and then reopen it in ILM and then my Avid licenses magically ended up on the ilok cloud.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subscription data - ilok cloud kursattaydas Licensing & Accounts 6 01-30-2018 02:29 AM
iLok Cloud Drew Mazurek Pro Tools 12 26 01-24-2018 01:57 PM
Same computer, same cloud session, different cloud users WAXLTD Pro Tools 2018 4 10-25-2016 05:19 PM
Question: Format iLok and only use waves cloud? Southsidemusic macOS 2 04-01-2013 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com