Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2013, 06:18 PM

Default Adaptive Noise Reduction in Post

Hello Everybody,

As some of you know I'm a picture editor who dabbles in audio post. Mostly shorts, trailers and a few micro-budget features. It's something I'm very interested in, but obviously don't consider myself a professional at. I'd call myself a skilled beginner, with the benefit of lots of watching and listening on others' dubstages (spent the day in stage 2 at Warner Brothers today on a CBS pilot).

Anyway, I was wondering how people use noise reduction tools, such as iZotope's RX2 or RX2 Advanced in their workflows?

Is it always used as a rendered effect, clip by clip, or does anybody use an adaptive noise reduction plugin in realtime? If so, under what circumstances, and do you have any tips for best results?

Just curious, mostly because iZotope is offering a reduced upgrade to to the "advanced" version and this feature is the one thing that I'd find interesting about it. But if nobody uses it that way, it doesn't offer much else I feel I need.

Thanks in advance.

Chris Conlee
Old 04-23-2013, 06:41 PM

Default Re: Adaptive Noise Reduction in Post

I think, clip by clip yields better results
It's a high latency plug if used in realtime

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

Thank you,

Craig
Old 04-23-2013, 06:47 PM

I upgraded to Advanced a couple of years ago (they had a nice special running), and I've tried several times to use the adaptive checkbox, which is on or off.