Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-11-2019, 06:28 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 190
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
off the wall, I also did the same upgrade for my 2010, runs really smooth. 3.46 Xeons, 96ram, (3) sticks on each tray. But what puzzles me that on my 2008 dual tray I could record with effects inserts and record @ 32buffer, but with this I can't, tells me to increase the buffer, and pro Tools defaults at 10cores ?


Is there something I need to adjust with the cores ? THANKS
I can't speak for PT 9 on 10.8. I haven't been there in a long time.

Pro Tools 11+ uses all the cores, you can no longer set the cores used in preferences.

The buffer size has more to do with the version of PT than anything else. Newer versions of PT have required larger and larger buffer sizes for me with the exception of 2019.5/10.14.5 I'm able to reliably run at 64 or 128 when only 1024 would work for large mixes before.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-11-2019, 06:26 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Thanks for your reply. yeah i really love the 32 buffer for tracking. Maybe I'll stay on 9 for tracking, and mix on 2019?


Will I be able to open a session that was tracked on 9 when using 2019 ?


Thanks.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,157
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Thanks for your reply. yeah i really love the 32 buffer for tracking. Maybe I'll stay on 9 for tracking, and mix on 2019?


Will I be able to open a session that was tracked on 9 when using 2019 ?


Thanks.
Depends on what OSX you're using - you'll need two separate boot partitions. According to the compatibility chart here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart PT9 topped out at Lion; I see you're running ML and PT 2019.5 wants a minimum of Sierra. Splitting a system drive into two partitions is easy. Getting a copy of Sierra or High Sierra not so much but possible.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-19-2019, 04:50 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Depends on what OSX you're using - you'll need two separate boot partitions. According to the compatibility chart here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart PT9 topped out at Lion; I see you're running ML and PT 2019.5 wants a minimum of Sierra. Splitting a system drive into two partitions is easy. Getting a copy of Sierra or High Sierra not so much but possible.
Thanks musicman691, hey now Sierra supports the newer SSD's right ?, that transfer more blocks than ACHI.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-20-2019, 03:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,157
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Thanks musicman691, hey now Sierra supports the newer SSD's right ?, that transfer more blocks than ACHI.
If you're asking about nvme drives that's one I can't answer but Darryl Ramm can - he's the dude on that area.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

I can also chime in as the other thread was very productive in this regard.

So.. A short summary:

If you want to BOOT from NVMe drive you need Mojave (easy way) or High Sierra (hard way) but if you only want to have NVMe storage (booting from somewhere else) then Sierra should also be doable.

What I think is, creating a clean Mojave system now is a no-brainer. We can already be on last version or then they release one more just before Catalina. Right now we know how well Mojave works with 2019.5 so just go for it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:38 AM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I would be very surprised if a SATA SSD drive boots faster than a PCIe drive. If that seems to be happening something else is going on. Start by making sure there are not extra startup items starting, and try resetting SMC/NVRAM. It's speed of boot, and application startup that I expect many people to notice with a PCIe SSD boot/system drive.
PCIe NVMe SSD's booting SLOWER than SATA SSD's on cMP models are quite well documented and discussed.

PCIe is external hardware, SATA is internal. Priorities are placed on internal connections for obvious reasons. Putting more cards into PCIe slots is going to slow the boot process for having to scan and load more crap. I don't know the intricate reasons to why PCIe NVMe SSDs boot slower but they just do.....for 4,1 and 5,1 cMPs. That is what we are discussing here. If your implying your surprised because it's different on a PC then that is irrelevant. It seems like they do boot faster on a PC but again, we are talking about a 10 year Mac Pro, not the 10 month old z390 chipset MB's that boot in 10 seconds with a NVMe SSD.
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Dual Hex Core X5680 3.33 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
970EVO 500GB (10.13.6) - 1TB WD Black HDD (Samples) - 6TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
HD5770 GPU

OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.12 - Presonus Studio 192 / Digi 003 Rack+
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,157
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by skizzo View Post
PCIe NVMe SSD's booting SLOWER than SATA SSD's on cMP models are quite well documented and discussed.

PCIe is external hardware, SATA is internal. Priorities are placed on internal connections for obvious reasons. Putting more cards into PCIe slots is going to slow the boot process for having to scan and load more crap. I don't know the intricate reasons to why PCIe NVMe SSDs boot slower but they just do.....for 4,1 and 5,1 cMPs. That is what we are discussing here. If your implying your surprised because it's different on a PC then that is irrelevant. It seems like they do boot faster on a PC but again, we are talking about a 10 year Mac Pro, not the 10 month old z390 chipset MB's that boot in 10 seconds with a NVMe SSD.
Your post is wrong on so many levels.
Do you have any links to back your assertion about the boot times?
Pcie is external h/w? Since when? It sure is internal to the computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2019, 10:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Your post is wrong on so many levels (...) Pcie is external h/w?
You're right about misinformation. PCI-express is connected to Northbridge a.k.a. fastest bus available. SATA however connects to Southbridge.

What the poster probably meant is the cheesegrater has integrated SATA drive bays which makes it "internal" and connecting more storage via PCI-express seems to be "external". Tehcnically however it is just the opposite.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2019, 12:18 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,157
Default Re: Upgrading a Mac Pro 5.1 12core 2.4Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You're right about misinformation. PCI-express is connected to Northbridge a.k.a. fastest bus available. SATA however connects to Southbridge.

What the poster probably meant is the cheesegrater has integrated SATA drive bays which makes it "internal" and connecting more storage via PCI-express seems to be "external". Tehcnically however it is just the opposite.
Thanks for the explanation.
As to your second paragraph whether a drive is considered external seems to depend on the OSX in use. My system drive is a 1TB ssd on a pcie adapter card that I originally had just OSX 10.10.5 on it. After a while I decided to get brave and try out PT 11.3.2 on Sierra OSX 10.12.6 so I partitioned the ssd into two equal size partitions.


When I boot into the Sierra partition (which is my now normal working partition) and have Finder show external disks it shows both boot partitions on my desktop. If I boot into Mavericks and have Finder show external disks it shows neither boot partition.


Originally when I had just the one boot partition on that ssd I had it mounted in one of the regular drive bays. When I moved it to the pcie card it sped up something wonderful. So drive-for-drive pcie will always be faster.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 12Core vs Mac Mini 4Core.. Mac Mini wins Venshield General Discussion 12 12-06-2017 07:32 PM
Not enough Memory - Mac Pro, 2x2.4Ghz, sonor77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-16-2010 12:25 PM
P4 3.4Ghz compatibility problems! pete66 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 39 01-26-2005 10:06 PM
VIA KT266 AMD 1.4ghz oslpchris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 10-26-2001 07:10 AM
Dell P4 1.4ghz Badooker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-28-2001 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com