Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2000, 02:34 AM
3james 3james is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 78
Default 888/24 input levels

I recently purchased an 888/24 and a bunch of 'nice' preamps and I'm having a heck of a problem getting enough gain from the preamp into protools. The preamp clips and there is huge headroom left on the 888. Is adjusting the gain on the front of the 888 supposed to work? HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2000, 10:23 AM
mwbutler mwbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: 888/24 input levels

I've been having the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2000, 05:44 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: 888/24 input levels

If you've got a "nice" preamp, I'm assuming it has a +4 output. I cannot imagine what problem you might be having, unless your cable is wired wrong (check the digi manual - pin 2 is hot).

DC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2000, 07:11 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,526
Default Re: 888/24 input levels

Please be aware that our 888/24 interfaces are configured to either -14 or -18 (I can't remember when they changed this) at 0dBu (+4dBv operating level) from an analog device (mixing console, mic pre, synth, etc.). We purposefuly ship our units with enough headroom so digital clipping is not an issue. However, you are able to adjust the input and output levels of the 888 series interfaces by using either Calibration Tool (stand alone app) or with Pro Tools in Calibration Mode (new feature under the Operations Menu in PT 5) in conjunction with the signal generator plug-in.

Calibration tool is explained in the 888/24 manual while Calibration Mode is documented in the Pro Tools TDM Hardware Installation Guide.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2000, 12:17 AM
Robert U Robert U is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Dubai U.A.E
Posts: 767
Default Re: 888/24 input levels

What's the difference in using the calibrationtool or tweaking the screws directly on the 888???

------------------
Robert Uhlmann
__________________
www.extensivemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2000, 01:31 AM
3james 3james is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 78
Default Re: 888/24 input levels

Brent, thanks for the info, I attempted to recallibrate my 888/24 and set the level to -14db (because I also use the 882) and although my outputs are callibrated, the input levels are extremely lower (thus why I couldn't get any level from my mic preamps). Why are they so low ie. -80 to -95 db? this makes no sense to me. is there something I am doing wrong? or is there something wrong with my 888?
I am getting these levels when sending -14db signal out of the 888 and back into the 888 input.

[This message has been edited by 3james (edited July 25, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C/24 input levels 67es335 ICON & C|24 0 09-04-2011 11:26 PM
Low Input Levels on my 888/24 Fucius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-25-2002 01:12 AM
Input levels on HD-1 96K BHeller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-05-2002 12:39 AM
low input levels 2 sadhits 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-26-2001 08:23 AM
Input Levels bugsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-18-2000 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com