Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2020, 07:04 AM
senghor senghor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Europe
Posts: 282
Default Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

Hi,

Does Digidesign 002 Rack still run with PT2020 (Windows 10)?

Thanks for your replies!
__________________
Win10 Home Premium, SP1
Intel i7-4770K @3,5GHz, RAM 16GB
GA-Z87N-WIFI (rev. 1)
UA Apollo Solo and pre-amps, Pro Tools 2020
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2020, 07:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

Driver info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2020, 09:14 AM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

Yeah, but you have to install the legacy FireWire driver..
Google it, or I've a post somewhere here on how to do it..

I'm running 2020.9 on Windows 10 on Digi 002..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2020, 12:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,841
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

If you HAVE one, it may well work with the last 003rack driver. If you are thinking about grabbing one, I would skip it. Way too old, somewhat unreliable(the "power harness" issue), needs firewire(which is getting harder to find) and wasn't that good when it wasn't that old
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2020, 02:12 PM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

It works perfectly with the last driver once you have the legacy FireWire driver..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2020, 02:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,841
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cqd View Post
It works perfectly with the last driver once you have the legacy FireWire driver..
Oddly enough, the legacy driver never worked for me. The TICompliant driver worked fine. I only gave up on my 003rack when it stopped working a few months ago I moved to a Presonus STUDIO 1810C and it sounds quite a bit better.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2020, 06:34 AM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 420
Default Re: Digidesign 002 Rack (still running?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by senghor View Post
Hi,

Does Digidesign 002 Rack still run with PT2020 (Windows 10)?

Thanks for your replies!
You didn't ask about Mac but it still works fine with MAC.
I only mention it because if you're looking to buy one
Ebay has 002's upgraded to the signature black lion upgrade
which I have and think that it sounds great.
For $250 or so not a bad deal imo.
good luck!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 192 Chassis running digital only? nocixel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-08-2011 05:28 PM
Hardware / rack effects with the Digidesign Rack 003 Matt Darcy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-21-2009 06:48 AM
ProTools LE 7.4.2 not running anymore after Digidesign support ... nilsk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-19-2008 02:21 AM
Running PTLE without a Digidesign Interface? antnyzman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-21-2004 09:49 PM
First Look Digidesign USB Box Running PT LE Hutch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2002 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com