Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2020, 11:31 AM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 77
Default Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD [SOLVED]

Greetings!

ilok ID: siddhantbhatia

I opened a case today: 03982105
No one has sent an Email, so I thought of reaching out here.


The issue:
I have 3 licenses. 2 HD Ultimate and one Perpetual. I have just upgraded one of my computers from Snow Leopard to High Sierra and I have been racking my brains for the last 4 hours since my iLok apparently has the requisite licenses but is not being recognized. After much searching and going through posts, it seems there is a problem with one of the license release limit which says its only for versions released on or before 07/02/17. I pay for upgradation every year. So this is a little unfair.

Also, every time Pro Tools points to an iLok, it only points to one of my 3 iLoks and says only that one has the required licenses, which is not true. I have another iLok where the release limit is under 2021 and it doesnt show.

I need immediate and urgent help as I have to get started and deliver with more than 40 mixes in the coming 3 weeks.

Kindly help.

Also, I need to understand since I already possess Ultimate and HD ultimate and Perpetual licenses, why cant I cross use these iLoks??? Why is it so complicated in todays times?

Please help with this problem. Its urgent!
  #2  
Old 07-13-2020, 11:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

You need to have active support and update plan for every license to get the release limit updated
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #3  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:03 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddhant Bhatia View Post
I already possess Ultimate and HD ultimate and Perpetual licenses, why cant I cross use these iLoks?
This makes no sense.

There are two kinds of licenses, Perpetual or Subscription. Perpetual are the ones that never expire, but you need to have active support and update plan to get new versions. Subscription is always current, but it will stop working once you stop paying.

PT Ultimate and PT HD is the same thing, different branding some years ago. The full version, compared to PT standard edition that many here call "vanilla".
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #4  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:13 PM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 77
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Makes no sense to me either:

1. I have 3 active support plans. 2 HD and 1 Perpetual.
2. I was using the one in consideration always on an old mavericks system so never thought the need to upgrade.
3. Now I have upgraded to High Sierra and this is the problem.

How can I provide you more details? I would love to.

Here are some screenshots:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oiR...ew?usp=sharing


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m5I...ew?usp=sharing


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jfp...ew?usp=sharing


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l81...ew?usp=sharing

Its 1 a.m. now! and I am going crazy! Need to start on this tomorrow. I think this has been an update error from Avid.
  #5  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Perpetual Product means that the license will not expire even when support plan runs out. Your perpetual products are Avid Complete Plug-In Bundle (pic1) and Pro Tools HD/Ultimate ExpertPlus Support (pic2). Your iLok shows release limit date that has not been refreshed (pic3).

Avid will correct the release limit mistake soon enough, but all I can see is one license so you can obviously use it in one system only.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #6  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Anyway, escalated your case. Please wait, someone should contact you...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #7  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:25 PM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 77
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Hi .. Yes, I know what Perpetual means! But my products are not exactly what the pics show, I think theres a misunderstanding. I have the following:

1. Perpetual Pro tools 12
2. 2 x Pro Tools HD Ultimate

Here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1msZ...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QE2...ew?usp=sharing

I am sorry, I am not able to explain. I only need this to work on one system at a time .. but I need it to work! Thats the point. I am unable to use Pro Tools 2020 ....

I pay every year to renew my subscription to the perpetual product
  #8  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:27 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Get a 30-day trial license for yourself while waiting for Avid Support to sort this out. Please wait, someone will contact you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #9  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:29 PM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 77
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

Thank you so much for escalating my case sir! Much appreciated. Can you tell me, from experience, how soon would someone connect with me? Also, where can I get the 30day licence? Sorry to sound like an idiot. I am not very familiar with these things :) But nevertheless, really really appreciate your immediate response!!!
  #10  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:30 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Release limit issue. Perpetual. Ultimate. Non HD and HD

https://my.avid.com/get/pro-tools-ultimate-trial
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD10 Perpetual Upgrade to 2020 Ultimate Perpetual WaterRat Licensing & Accounts 7 04-24-2020 06:47 PM
FS: Pro Tools Ultimate Perpetual Funkmasta69 Buy & Sell 0 09-30-2019 08:37 PM
PT Ultimate perpetual REINSTATE still possible? peterle Licensing & Accounts 11 06-27-2019 03:14 PM
Renewing subscription for perpetual PT Ultimate home_studio Licensing & Accounts 3 05-03-2018 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com