Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:23 AM
Corinna Corinna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 6
Default Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE 8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12 [solved]

Hi Everyone,

I decided this week to restore my Mac to factory settings and thought that I may as well update to the latest macOS Sierra. Excited at the prospect of having a faster running and more modern version of my old laptop again, I was keen to get my Pro Tools LE8 software with my MBOX Mini back in business again.

However, when I tried to install the software using the original CD and then subsequently trying to download it via the avid website, I had no success on both occasions. Pro Tools simply won't install.

Does anyone know if there is a way around this? Is there a special link on the avid site where I can install LE8 again using my original authorisation code?

I would appreciate your help, as I am tearing my hair out and desperately need to use it tomorrow.

Warm wishes,

Corinna

Last edited by Corinna; 10-07-2016 at 10:26 AM. Reason: Wrong Title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 631
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

I think it unlikely that PT 8 is compatable with Sierra, which is why it won't install.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 451.48- Internal WD Black, Samsung 860, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.2.7.010 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:17 AM
Corinna Corinna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

But surely they are going to have to bring out an update online to be compatible with Sierra? I don't think it would be fair for me to have to buy it all over again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:21 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

Corinna,

I feel your pain, but that's life in the software business. They simply cannot stop progressing with the times. LE8 is from YEARS ago, and clearly is not going to be compatible with Sierra. Heck even their newest version of Pro Tools isn't qualified on Sierra yet.

You own a car from some years back, probably. A television? Your computers? As they age and get replaced with newer versions, you have to purchase them again. Why should software be any different?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:26 AM
Corinna Corinna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

I know, I know It was that my Pro Tools worked perfectly well for me and was sufficient for what I use it for. Annoyingly, Mac won't let me go back to that older version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:31 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 631
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

This is why you should always have a back up plan before doing anything. Having a clone or disc image of your hard drive, means you can go back to a working system if you come up against this scenario.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 451.48- Internal WD Black, Samsung 860, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.2.7.010 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:42 AM
Corinna Corinna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

Am working on that with the Mac Support. I have backed up everything on to hard drives. Hoping to find a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2016, 04:28 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corinna View Post
I know, I know It was that my Pro Tools worked perfectly well for me and was sufficient for what I use it for. Annoyingly, Mac won't let me go back to that older version.
Assuming you still have the disks that came with your computer you can go back to whatever OSX version you had. You'll have to wipe the system drive completely clean and reinstall everything from scratch. The problem is going to come in getting the OSX updates you need for whatever version you had before.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2016, 12:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

Here's the compatibility chart for you
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2016, 02:01 AM
hybridarts hybridarts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Can't reinstall PRO TOOLS LE8 with new macOS Sierra 10.12

I can possibly help you out with a 10.5.8 combo update or a bootable snow leopard if that helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacOS Sierra + Pro Tools 12.5 = No Fader Lag elvehornacek Pro Tools 12 31 11-27-2016 09:50 PM
Pro Tools 12.6 HD and macOS Sierra CPU initial spikes on launch Justin1524 Pro Tools 12 2 11-16-2016 03:44 PM
macOS Sierra 10.12 now supported with Pro Tools v12.6 Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-26-2016 12:29 PM
macOS Sierra official release date is Sept. 20. How long til Pro Tools is compatible? Justin1524 Pro Tools 12 29 09-11-2016 04:36 PM
HELP! Pro Tools LE 8 crashing macOS Sierra Developer Preview! reichman Getting Started 3 06-17-2016 07:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com