Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2013, 06:41 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 Accel

Hello,

I have just bought an EB4 expansion chassis for my HD3 rig. The system was working perfect inside my computer also in combination with my UAD-2 Quad card.

My system:
Windows 7 Professional 64bit
AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR3 1333MHz, Sapphire Radeon HD 5850, Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5, (onboard audio, parallel and serial port disabled in bios)
I have connected the graphics card to the first PCIe slot. No additional cards are installed (also the UAD-2 Quad is not installed at the moment). There is an x4, x8 and x16 slot left but it does not make any difference where the Magma host card is connected. The computer works as usual as long as the chassis is not powered on but still connected. I mean everything else works but not Pro Tools then for sure ;-)

Empty chassis:
No bios beep – so nothing at all.
I could solve this by disabling the additional Gigabyte/JMicron SATA controllers in bios. Would not be a problem because all my drives are connected to the AMD SATA ports

2 Pro Tools Cards installed:
It works. But when installing the UAD-2 Quad to the Mainboard there is again no bios beep.

3 Pro Tools Cards installed:
Bios beep, but freezing when trying to boot windows as it says “loading operations system”.
It works when disabling LAN1, LAN2 and USB3 in bios. But also not with the UAD card.

So this is not acceptable. I need at least one LAN card to connect to the C24.
What is the problem here?
Is the system running out of resources/interrupts or something like this?

I also tried it within a new bought socket 2011 Intel machine.
The additional Marvell SATA controllers also had to be disabled to get a bios beep. Then it boots up windows but right after boot it had a blue screen.

Any ideas?

Merry Christmas!
Gandlz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2013, 11:25 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,724
Default Re: Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 A

What version of Pro Tools?

What drivers?

Any IRQ conflicts?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2013, 03:25 PM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 A

sorry for missing info:
Pro Tools HD v10.3.7
drivers from Pro Tools installation

Magma does not require any drivers.
Windows shows no IRQ conflicts when it starts correct.
But the problem is, that it will not start most of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2013, 01:26 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,724
Default Re: Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 A

Quote:
Originally Posted by gandlz View Post
sorry for missing info:
Pro Tools HD v10.3.7
drivers from Pro Tools installation

Magma does not require any drivers.
Windows shows no IRQ conflicts when it starts correct.
But the problem is, that it will not start most of the time.
I meant what drivers for Pro Tools or your interface, but I guess those are installed with the Pro Tools installation.

If you are getting a Blue Screen, it should also be creating a dump file that points to the problem. What message is displaying when you get the BSOD?

Have you tried to debug the dump/mini dump file?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2014, 09:08 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 A

Yes, the drivers were installed during Pro Tools installation.
The 192 I/O has the latest firmware installed.

I don’t have the Intel computer still here, which gave me the blue screen. I just took the chance and used it for a short test.
My AMD computer as mentioned does not even boot windows.

Sorry, but I cannot provide further info about the blue screen.

Gandlz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2014, 09:16 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Magma EB4 - ExpressBox 4 (2U) - Windows boot freeze, not starting with PCIe HD3 A

OK – I could find the problem now:

It seems that the mainboard cannot handle a full equipped expansion chassis.
I tried two newer boards and they worked. These were ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0 and Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5.
There were no onboard devices which had to be disabled and also no blue screen like on the even more powerful Intel machine.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried HDX with Magma ExpressBox 3T? janmuths Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 37 06-06-2020 11:52 PM
PCIe HD Accel with Thunderbolt Magma - FAIL SmokinBaldMonkey macOS 10 02-26-2014 10:43 AM
Magma ExpressBox 3T musicman691 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 05-04-2012 10:39 AM
PCI HD Accel cards, Magma pci chassis and newer PCIe Macs CD Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2008 08:03 AM
PCIe accel windows xp support taiazeez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 01-31-2006 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com