Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:45 PM
Loudyman's Avatar
Loudyman Loudyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Posts: 230
Default Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

Hi everyone,
Sorry if this has been asked before but I want to upgrade my mac pro (see signature) to Snow Leopard, and I don't really know what to do...your help is welcome.

First, which version should I buy ? :
A)The $29 simple upgrade version
B)The $129 Mac box set

Secondly, can I do a clean install with any versions and could you give me a step by step procedure to do it, please ? (I've never done this before)

Lastly, I saw several comments, on some tutorial videos and articles, talking about the illegality of some upgrade procedure: for example, upgrading a Mac Tiger to Snow Leopard with the $29 version...., just to say that I want to do a clean install of S.L. legally

Thanks by advance,
Loudy.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 cores Intel Xeon harpertown 3Ghz (Early 2008)| ATI radeon HD 2600 XT | 16GB RAM | 750GB system drive + 3x1TB drives |
MAC OSX 10.6.8 | Protools HD 10.3.2 |
HD3 PCIe Accel |
192 I/O |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:53 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

The box set just come with iLife. If you want/need any of the software in iLife, then get that. (iphoto, imovie, garageband, etc)

The $29 box is all you need if you just want the OS. It's a full installer, so it's not just an upgrade that needs a previously installed OS. I don't know why you apparently can't do that with a machine that had Tiger installed... but either way...

It's a pretty simple procedure. Just pop in the disk, click the icon, reboot the computer and away you go. You can choose to install over Leopard, but I much prefer to wipe the hard drive first and install fresh.

When you boot from the DVD, you can select Disk Utility from the menu bar. From here, you can format your system drive which will wipe everything from it and allow you to install fresh. Just select the disk, click the "Erase" tab, select Mac OS Extended (Journaled) as your format, name it something simple like "Mac" and away you go. (If you have the option, select GUID partition table as well)

Now, you can just install SL completely fresh, and it will take a lot less time than you think. Just follow the on screen instructions and you should be fine.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2011, 02:11 PM
Loudyman's Avatar
Loudyman Loudyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Posts: 230
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

Thank you very much Dism !
I saw in other posts that a complete backup of the mac is recommended, I have some questions on that subject :
1) Is it OK to "put" this backup on a partitioned firewire drive with a partition for the Mac OS' backup and the other for the Protools' session backup ?

2) Why should I keep the old Mac OS (Leopard) and how much time ?
I know that I should keep it if an issue occurs with the new OS, but I don't understand well what are the solutions in this kind of situation... (Boot from the old OS and then, what do you do ?) If someone could give me some examples to better understand this practice, it would be great !

Thanks !
__________________
Mac Pro 8 cores Intel Xeon harpertown 3Ghz (Early 2008)| ATI radeon HD 2600 XT | 16GB RAM | 750GB system drive + 3x1TB drives |
MAC OSX 10.6.8 | Protools HD 10.3.2 |
HD3 PCIe Accel |
192 I/O |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:26 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

To clarify, Apple offers the $29 upgrade to Snow Leopard if you're upgrading from Leopard. If it's anything older, they tell you to buy the pack with iLife.

It's possible that the Snow Leopard upgrade software would see that there's something older and not install, and people got around this by wiping their drive clean.

You're coming from Leopard, so this is not an issue.

For what it's worth, I recently got Snow Leopard and just chose "upgrade", rather than clean install, and I've had no problems whatsoever.

I just backed up individual items like documents, photos, etc. in case there were to be a problem. But it wasn't an issue. This is on a 2007 Imac.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2011, 05:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,550
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudyman View Post
Thank you very much Dism !
I saw in other posts that a complete backup of the mac is recommended, I have some questions on that subject :
1) Is it OK to "put" this backup on a partitioned firewire drive with a partition for the Mac OS' backup and the other for the Protools' session backup ?

2) Why should I keep the old Mac OS (Leopard) and how much time ?
I know that I should keep it if an issue occurs with the new OS, but I don't understand well what are the solutions in this kind of situation... (Boot from the old OS and then, what do you do ?) If someone could give me some examples to better understand this practice, it would be great !

Thanks !
Your best bet for upgrading to Snow Leopard is to reformat/wipe clean your old hard drive and install SL from scratch. And then re-install PT and all your plugins after that. There's no reason to keep Leopard on the drive at all. And don't use Migration Assistant to move things from your old drive and/or backup to the newly updated SL drive.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2011, 12:08 PM
Loudyman's Avatar
Loudyman Loudyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Posts: 230
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

I've just ordered the $29 box upgrade
Thanks again for your help !
Loudy.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 cores Intel Xeon harpertown 3Ghz (Early 2008)| ATI radeon HD 2600 XT | 16GB RAM | 750GB system drive + 3x1TB drives |
MAC OSX 10.6.8 | Protools HD 10.3.2 |
HD3 PCIe Accel |
192 I/O |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:56 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

Hi,
Installed 10.6/10.6.7 over 10.5.8 and it has been fine with PT HD 8.1.1.

Much better system than 10.5.8/PT HD 8.0.5.

I only get an occasional error message when quiting Toast.

If anything else happens, I might inform you here.
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to Snow Leopard? SpongeBob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-25-2011 07:00 AM
Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-01-2011 02:21 PM
Couldn't get snow leopard install to stabilize from leopard clone update! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2010 04:45 PM
Native Instruments Akoustik & Elektrik Piano Compatibility on Leopard & Snow Leopard DigiTechSupt Virtual Instruments 0 01-07-2010 11:08 AM
If buying Imac and MBox2 tomorrow: Leopard or Snow Leopard? Jairo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-22-2009 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com