Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2010, 02:44 AM
Derj33 Derj33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 3
Default How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

I have decided to try out some outboard gear (have previously been using vsts only) so upon reading a bit of research found that the “Really Nice Compressor” seemed to be well thought of and relatively affordable. I have recently also purchased one of the new Avid Mbox Pros as I got a deal on it.

I tried to connect the RNC by having an output from the Mbox Pro going to one of its inputs and then sending the output to one of the Mbox pros inputs. In Abelton Live (my DAW for composing although I use Pro Tools for mixing) I set the various i/o as seemed correct but no sound (evident by the gain reduction meter not moving) seemed to be going into the RNC and therefore noting was routing back in.

What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2010, 06:03 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

If it's the new Mbox 3 Pro, you would want to use the inserts out to your compressor. Unfortunately, I've looked at the manual and it's not clear to me how to do this. I'm not sure where the insert returns into (line inputs?).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2010, 06:17 AM
Derj33 Derj33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

It is indeed the Mbox 3 - I will try as you suggest i.e. use the inserts and then try routing back into the inputs and see if there is any joy there
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:06 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,833
Default Re: How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

Yes, use the insert jacks and the routing is all done for you(selecting input 1 in your session will record with compression, if the RNC is inserted on input 1).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:18 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default

Do you have the correct cable to hook this up?

I'm pretty sure the rnc uses trs to both send and return on the same jack.

If your interface doesn't have this type of connectivity then you would need an insert cable. Looks like a stereo to dual mono y cable.

If both devices do support trs send and receive make sure they're compatible, I.e both using tip to send, ring to return or vice versa.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2010, 01:29 AM
Derj33 Derj33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

Great - thank you!

I may not get a chance to try this side of Xmas. Albee 1952 would the same principle apply if I am taking digital audio and compressing it? What I mean is that I am not recording instruments I write electronic music and thought I would start dabbling in hardware compression/eq to see if I can add some warmth to my tracks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2010, 07:26 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: How to connect Really Nice Compressor to Mbox Pro

So it sounds like you're talking about sounds that are already recorded (like synths, etc.) and running them out into a compressor to enhance or warm up the sound?

If that's the case, I would say it probably wouldn't be worth doing, for a couple of reasons:

1. The main way to do this is to use a really high end vintage compressor that adds it's own character. The RNC is not that type of compressor, so I don't think it will add anything.

2. The second reason is that you would be doing an unnecessary D/A and A/D conversion, which may cause you to slightly lose some quality.

For what you're trying to do, you'd be better off using some plugins that imitate this type of feature, and there are plenty out there. Some imitate the sound of recording to tape, or going through tubes, or certain mixing consoles. These would include Slate Virtual Console Collection, Mellowmuse SATV, Nomad Factory Magnetic, McDsp analog channel, and more.

Then there are also compressor and eq plugins designed to imitate classic vintage equipment. There are some nice ones by Waves, including the CLA classic compressors, API, Vintage Series, SSL bundle, Puigtec, as well as ones by other manufacturers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FMR Really Nice Compressor & MBox? siggy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-07-2006 08:35 AM
Really Nice Compressor clausiii 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-02-2004 08:45 AM
FMR Really Nice Pre and FMR Compressor Elvisaintme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-02-2003 05:59 AM
Very Nice Compressor supercell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-11-2003 06:17 AM
How nice is the RNC compressor? DOUBLE EDGE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-15-2002 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com