Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:18 AM
WideO WideO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Default Confused: dual core and Dverb test

I'm doing some DVerb tests on my Toshiba Satellite A100 373 (Core Duo 1.66 Ghz) laptop with 7.3 and MBox Pro, and I'm a bit confused.

Whilst setting the DAE to 2 processors (CPU limit 90%), I can record 32 tracks with 70 DVerbs. CPU constantly hovers around 88 - 89 %, even when not recording. Records for 5 minutes, no problem.

When I close the session, change to 1 processor (CPU limit 99%) and reload the test, I only see about 15 % CPU usage, but hitting record immediately gives me a buffer error.

Restarting Protools, changing CPU affinity (as I had to do with 7.1.2), then load the session does not change anything.

OK, it's obvious I'm better off with using the 2 CPU's, and it's not really a problem, but I wonder why there is such a difference in (alledged) CPU usage ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2006, 12:11 AM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Confused: dual core and Dverb test

How does it perform in an actual mix session?
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2006, 01:13 AM
WideO WideO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Confused: dual core and Dverb test

I don't have any serious data on real world application yet I'm afraid. It's OK for the small projects/demos/songwriting I've done so far, and it certainly seems possible to get a good sound out of the setup.

I don't think the Toshiba is recommended, it took me quite a bit of tweaking to get it this far, and 70 DVerbs isn't really a lot compared to what others are getting. OTOH, there seem to be no serious incompatibility issues with Protools.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I still do a DVERB test? PeterGreen Pro Tools 10 9 01-05-2013 07:20 AM
Mono DVerb plugin test on 8-Core Mac Pro bortraws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 54 10-21-2009 12:33 AM
DVERB test help synchronic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-08-2009 12:26 PM
Mac Pro 8-Core = 406 Mono Dverb inserts! My stress test. MindDead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-27-2007 12:50 AM
G5 Dual 1.8 vs G5 Dual 2- DVERB Speed Test Sound Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-29-2003 03:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com