Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2006, 12:02 PM
gh4life gh4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default Mbox2Pro

Is the power suppose to stay on all the time or is it supposed to shut off when you shut the compter down?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2006, 09:11 PM
len branville len branville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: minneapolis
Posts: 315
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

Quote:
Is the power suppose to stay on all the time or is it supposed to shut off when you shut the compter down?
Yes, I've seen the power stay on while my Macbook is plugged in anyway (if I remember correctly). However, when I shut down my desktop unit the Mbox Pro also shuts down (off) completely. Nevertheless, it doesn't matter if it stays on though.. when I have wanted to power it down under these circumstances I just pull the firewire cable out of the Mbox Pro. If I experience something different than this I'll post it here.

Good luck!

len b
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2006, 01:47 PM
gh4life gh4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

Quote:
Quote:
Is the power suppose to stay on all the time or is it supposed to shut off when you shut the compter down?
Yes, I've seen the power stay on while my Macbook is plugged in anyway (if I remember correctly). However, when I shut down my desktop unit the Mbox Pro also shuts down (off) completely. Nevertheless, it doesn't matter if it stays on though.. when I have wanted to power it down under these circumstances I just pull the firewire cable out of the Mbox Pro. If I experience something different than this I'll post it here.

Good luck!

len b
Okay thanks, I just wanted to make sure. I just dont want it to lose life being on all the time thats all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2006, 05:45 PM
jes's Avatar
jes jes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 224
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

a second power question: would it make any difference to performance of this box if it were plugged in and powered by its ac adapter rather than bus powered?
__________________
http://www.jonathansegel.com
Mac Pro Nehalem 2.8Ghz Quad 32GB RAM
Macbook Pro 2.8Ghz 16GB RAM
PT 2020
UAD-2 Apollo Quad, PCIE and Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2006, 06:09 PM
gh4life gh4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

Quote:
a second power question: would it make any difference to performance of this box if it were plugged in and powered by its ac adapter rather than bus powered?
According to tech support No. But I have a hard time believing that. I dont think it will make you music sound better but there has to be slack somewhere by it being powered by the same source audio is goin in and out of.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2006, 06:51 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

Some shaky reasoning there, and I wouldn't make any assumptions on the quality of the power provided by a cheap wall wart vs. Firewire bus power from a Mac.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2006, 09:42 PM
gh4life gh4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default Re: Mbox2Pro

Quote:
Some shaky reasoning there, and I wouldn't make any assumptions on the quality of the power provided by a cheap wall wart vs. Firewire bus power from a Mac.
Yeah you might have a point there
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9 on 64 bit W7 mbox2pro whitewaller Windows 2 05-02-2011 12:39 PM
Giving up on Mbox2Pro rlcowastudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-29-2009 12:56 PM
mbox2pro upgrade: 002 or 003? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-21-2009 04:12 PM
How to open an MBox2Pro? Will Russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-19-2008 04:11 AM
will I ever be able to FW800 with mbox2pro..? ec123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-15-2007 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com