Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2019, 10:03 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Avid S1 & S4

...have been announced. They fill clear and obvious holes in the control surface line-up. And it demonstrates continued commitment to EuCon.

Thoughts? Anyone have prices?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2019, 10:12 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,996
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

My first dumb thought was are we finally getting eq curves on the Control App? (You know the thing that was shown on the Dock product pages for marketing at the beginning and never materialized. Hopefully marketing isn’t doing the same stupid thing again)

Also hope automation match indicators come to the Control app for those channel strips shown on the S1.

Part of me wonders if the S3 fits in now. Also like the new S4 MTM (looks better than the S6 with displaying the 7.1.2 panners in the main area.) Also the tilt up knob unit (which I saw Jeff do on the S6 but haven’t seen the means to do built-in for our S6s)

Interestingly, looks like the process units won’t be available for the S4 according to Westlake but all other modules will. Seems a strange oversight. I wonder if the S6 M10 config is dead now (and to some extent the S3).
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB

Last edited by BScout; 07-18-2019 at 10:33 AM. Reason: Never mind the “top screen for outputs” looks the same as S6 just wasn’t used to seeing the 7.1.2 panner)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2019, 11:11 AM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 309
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

According to PTE the S1 price will be comparable to the Artist Mix ($1k) and the S4 will be $25k-ish.
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2019, 11:19 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,379
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

From a sound editor's POV my questions are:

Are there automation control buttons on the S1? (preview, write etc.) any other hotkeys? The dock eats up too much space for my taste.
In an ideal world I wish the elgato streamdeck could support Eucon or (vice versa?) plus 2 S1 and I'm set.

The size of the S1 is great, I hope it's possible to optionally remove the iPad holder if you prefer to have the ipad lying flat in front of it instead for easier access to soft-keys without stretching out your arm.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2019, 11:57 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,794
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

Prices of the S4 was higher than I guessed ...

https://www.sweetwater.com/shop/new-...e-controllers/
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2019, 12:23 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
From a sound editor's POV my questions are:

Are there automation control buttons on the S1? (preview, write etc.) any other hotkeys? The dock eats up too much space for my taste.
In an ideal world I wish the elgato streamdeck could support Eucon or (vice versa?) plus 2 S1 and I'm set.

The size of the S1 is great, I hope it's possible to optionally remove the iPad holder if you prefer to have the ipad lying flat in front of it instead for easier access to soft-keys without stretching out your arm.

F.
The Dock eats up too much space? Frank, we'll all chip-in here on the DUC to buy you a bigger desk.

I love the Dock because it's so small I can travel with it and set it up anywhere. A Dock and an S1 in a flight case would be a great combo.

But to your point, you can use PT|Control on an iPad w/o the Dock and the soft key section on the iPad would be very similar to the Elgato. There are a lot of little iPad stands for doing that.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2019, 12:24 PM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

How on earth can a “budget s6” cost more than a s6 m10-8-5?

For the cheaper s3 style faders 10-15k would have been a more sensible starting point.


Edit:

S4 8 fader: 24000
S6 8 fader: 22000

S4 16 fader: 38000
S6 16 fader: 41000

S4 24 fader: 53000
S6 24 fader: 57000


They are FAR too close together in price to be marketed for smaller studios, you’re better off spending more on the s6, because of the way better faders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2019, 12:52 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,379
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
The Dock eats up too much space? Frank, we'll all chip-in here on the DUC to buy you a bigger desk.

I love the Dock because it's so small I can travel with it and set it up anywhere. A Dock and an S1 in a flight case would be a great combo.

But to your point, you can use PT|Control on an iPad w/o the Dock and the soft key section on the iPad would be very similar to the Elgato. There are a lot of little iPad stands for doing that.
Yeah I know, I'm odd

I look all that unused "grey matter" on the dock and the massive jog wheel that I don't use and then at the streamdeck with 32 keys on endless levels and tactile feedback and it sits next to my keyboard at about half the size and cost of an iPad mini and say to myself: if it could only understand Eucon, there'd be room for even a third S1 with better ergononics.

Looking at the buttons of the S1 it seems like it's exactlly an Artist Mix with the buttons moved above the faders and slimmed down, which is great. There was a lot of unused space on the Mix and the Control. But for quick editing the hotkeys need to be close to where the hands are. A Streamdeck with Eucon would be killer, I could put 3 S1 where there used to be a Mix and a Control and still have as many hotkeys I want and I can place them where ever I want. Finder shortcuts, Keyboard Maestro custom macros and Eucon all on the same controller auto switching to your custom key maps when you switch to a different application.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2019, 01:10 PM
DHS DHS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 154
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Mac View Post
How on earth can a “budget s6” cost more than a s6 m10-8-5?

For the cheaper s3 style faders 10-15k would have been a more sensible starting point.


Edit:

S4 8 fader: 24000
S6 8 fader: 22000

S4 16 fader: 38000
S6 16 fader: 41000

S4 24 fader: 53000
S6 24 fader: 57000


They are FAR too close together in price to be marketed for smaller studios, you’re better off spending more on the s6, because of the way better faders.
yeah... This initially peaked my interest but I picked up my 32 fader M40 on used market for 40 plus a support plan They've been on market long enough to find decent pricing if you really want an s6 over the s4. Maybe a new s6 is coming soon though that will make the s4 pricing make more sense.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2019, 01:49 PM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: Avid S1 & S4

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHS View Post
yeah... This initially peaked my interest but I picked up my 32 fader M40 on used market for 40 plus a support plan They've been on market long enough to find decent pricing if you really want an s6 over the s4. Maybe a new s6 is coming soon though that will make the s4 pricing make more sense.
Yeah I get that. But it isn’t really fair to call the s4 a budget-conscious more affordable option. When what you are actually doing is making the cost of entry to s6 a lot more expensive, by killing off the m10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have been waiting for Avid to approve a license transfer for a week. ANYONE? AVID? wreckthisplace Licensing & Accounts 24 11-16-2016 03:22 AM
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 02:31 PM
Will (Avid/M-Audio) Pro Tools MP 9 support Avid Vocal Studio: Producer USB Microphone XDosShane Windows 0 02-04-2012 09:17 PM
AVID Website | Pros & Cons | Dedicated to the AVID Web Crew 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-28-2010 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com