Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2018, 07:51 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 99
Default Omni Died During Firmware Update

I was running Digitest and card passes fine, and it said my Omni needed a firmware update. While it was doing so, Digitest crashed. I restarted my MacPro, ran Digitest again, now it will not see my omni at all.

Also, now none of the LED displays on my omni illuminate. I tried to do a factor reset, but the unit is now unresponsive. I read on another thread that it could be the contrast is too low, so I tried what it suggested, which was, press the setup button, turn the knob 14 clicks, and the press the knob, and turn right to bring the contrast up. That has zero effect.

Help me please.

All of this started when I added an Apogee AD16 to my rig, and HD Native card would only see the Omni and the AD 16 and not my other 192 I/O.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2018, 10:53 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Omni Died During Firmware Update

I found this, and it describes perfectly what my issue is, does this mean I have to uninstall Protools Ultimate, current version, and then install Protools 12.4 just so I can run Digitest?

I don't think Ultimate will let me run Protools 12, only 10 and 11. Is there a versions of PT Ultimate that will have a Digitest App that will fix my issue?

Please offer some advice.......


This was from DigiTech Support Post

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=380239


Exclamation HD OMNI firmware update
When updating the HD OMNI firmware, DigTest might appear to hang (spinning wait cursor). If you experience this DO NOT QUIT DIGITEST!

When finished, the HD OMNI will restart and the front panel display will return to normal. If DigiTest is still showing the spinning wait cursor after the HD OMNI restarts, DigiTest can then be safely quit. If your HD OMNI shows blank scribble strips and is unrecognized by Pro Tools because of this, try running DigiTest 12.4 on OS X 10.9.x/10.10.x to reset the HD OMNI or contact Avid CS for help.

Note that this is related to the update process, it is not a problem in the firmware.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2018, 11:29 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Omni Died During Firmware Update

Out of nowhere, doing absolutely nothing differently, I ran Digitest again under Ultimate, the same versions as all the other tries, Bam, now it works. I was able to update the Firmware and all is back to normal at this point.

Crazy long night.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2018, 08:44 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,603
Default Re: Omni Died During Firmware Update

Cool, those are stressful moments for sure.

I would imagine you could have installed PT12.4 and been able to run the digitest program.

It is not like you were trying to run PT12.4 the application itself.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD OMNI firmware update DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 04-22-2016 01:55 PM
Omni Firmware update problem ilulilu888 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 08-13-2013 10:15 AM
How do I update Omni firmware if Digitest wont open? basicbass Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-02-2013 01:28 AM
No ASIO after Omni firmware 2.10 update? Shan Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 14 03-31-2012 02:49 PM
HD Omni firmware update CDac Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-01-2011 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com