Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-29-2015, 05:00 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 95
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.Focusrite View Post
Hi Mesaone,

Yes. At the time of its release it will be compatible with windows.
Could you elaborate a little on that?

I looking a hardware options now but I am on Windows. If support is coming the Clarett 8PreX might be worth waiting for!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-30-2015, 07:12 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,977
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
They better hope thunderbolt comes to windows pc's soon
I thought Thunderbolt was something exclusive to Macs? What exactly is it?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-30-2015, 07:22 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
They better hope thunderbolt comes to windows pc's soon
Look up The Pro Tools PC. Lots of motherboards available with it, and a few laptops.

Let's dispense with the Apple generated propaganda.

It's an Intel idea, so any motherboard with the right Intel chipset can have it.

Thunderbolt on Windows works. Even on units like the Apollo, who haven't even written official support for it yet. Existing drivers work. Same goes for Avid HD Native Thunderbolt.

Apple are going to get left behind. While they've specced TB2, TB4 is already in the pipeline, as is USB3.1 and USB4, which brings TB levels of performance.

And what's the need anyway? RME claim to get close to PCIe levels of performance out of USB2 already.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-30-2015, 09:25 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Thunderbolt is an Intel technology. Intel is heavily invested in the Windows PC market. Just like firewire, Thunderbolt will soon be as viable for PC as it is for mac. By that time, the variety and stability of TB audio interfaces will have improved a great deal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
RME claim to get close to PCIe levels of performance out of USB2 already.
I can confirm this, I have switched to all-RME for my interfaces, and I don't plan on changing that anytime soon. Along with good performance (read: low latency and great features), RME stuff *just works*. Sample rate switching with multiple ASIO clients? It just works. Direct to disk recording with no DAW? It just works.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-30-2015, 09:32 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Exactly. I've just switched to a RME Fireface 802 and the performance over USB2 is just brilliant. RME are a great example of a company willing to make universal standards work. Unlike some others, who seem to be afraid to upset Apple.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-30-2015, 09:46 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Have you checked out RME's DigiCheck suite?

The Global Record feature is awesome. Direct-to-disk recording of arbitrary channel counts in an interleaved file. I use it when recording tutorial vids, to capture my voiceover and a stereo loopback of my mains (courtesy of the built-in loopback function of TotalMix).

It can even run concurrently with Pro Tools. By setting it up to record to a dedicated disk, it can serve as a redundancy much the same way that USB recording works with the UFX.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-30-2015, 11:34 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,598
Default Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Let's dispense with the Apple generated propaganda.

It's an Intel idea, so any motherboard with the right Intel chipset can have it.

No propaganda here my friend. Just noting that it's not as prevalent.

If I can't buy a TB PCI-e add on card and download a driver I can't use one. B/c when I built my Hackintosh TB was too new and I didn't want to risk compatibility issues with my install.


All the point was its not as prevalent on Windows. And not anywhere close for aftermarket installs (which is what I would have to have)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.

Last edited by YYR123; 02-01-2015 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-23-2015, 08:53 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

However, you CAN cheaply upgrade your motherboard and processor, which "real" Mac owners can't. That way you stay ahead of the curve by being able to adopt things like usb4 and tb4.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-23-2015, 09:01 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,598
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
However, you CAN cheaply upgrade your motherboard and processor, which "real" Mac owners can't. That way you stay ahead of the curve by being able to adopt things like usb4 and tb4.

I can upgrade, but I don't know about cheaply

My CPU was $500 and my MOBO $300

Yeah so cheaper than buying a new Mac for sure, but for$800 i could have a new pre

Warm audio's look nice
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-09-2015, 05:23 AM
mikefont mikefont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 691
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Looks so cool! But what were they thinking by only putting ONE Thunderbolt port on the back!!!!

And for the life on me, I don't understand why they didn't put a USB port on there also. It sure does seem like that would be the most flexible way to go if they want the unit to sell, especially as TB isn't widely available in the PC world yet.


.
__________________
Lenovo IdeaCentre K430 Windows 7 Pro SP1 64bit PC with 3rd generation 3.4 GB Intel Core i7-3770, 32GB DDR3, 2TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GT620 running Pro Tools 11.3.1 and PT 10.3.9 and the ELEVEN RACK!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt interfaces nst7 Pro Tools 11 3 01-23-2015 04:32 AM
New interface - Focusrite YYR123 General Discussion 3 02-06-2014 09:10 PM
Focusrite interface jayjaystevens Pro Tools 10 2 10-02-2013 08:17 AM
Focusrite 2i4 Interface? Terry Wetzel Windows 6 10-02-2013 05:38 AM
focusrite interface with protools ? dubhole 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-22-2009 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com